We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attended 10:30am Mass”

St. Dunstan's Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$912.72*
and up
5-Day Prince Edward Island Trip from Halifax Including Green Gables Heritage...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a beautiful old cathedral located in the heart of the city. It's over 100 years old.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attended 10:30am Mass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The basilica was beautiful. We were there for the 10:30am mass, which was great to go to - fantastic choir and engaging priest and parish.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    156
    23
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a quick Glance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were on a tour and I was the only one going into the Basilica. I didn't stay too long, but I was amazed at the beauty and architecture inside and out. Normally when you think of a Basilica you think of Europe where some of the historical Basilica's were built up to the heavens. This is definitely worth stopping by and just sitting in to enjoy. We went back after our tour ended and sat and listened, looked at the stained glass. It is just peaceful and beautiful to take in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajohnson34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very European!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Who would have guessed that such a big European Cathedral would be centered in this smallish town at the edge of Canada... it is quite a beautiful place to visit! Easy walk from the harbor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Attended a Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Gorgeous Church but don't try to use the Handicapped entrance if you are travelling with the elderly, the janitor has the key to the elevator and it would have been easier for my mother in law to use the front steps rather than the stairs from the side door.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gorgeous church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Feel free to go inside and look around respecfully. You'll see artefacts including a boat/sled that a pastor from a bygone era used to transport his priestly "gear" around PEI before the days of cars and roads. Beautiful and serene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CountingSchooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Dunstan's Basilica also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to St. Dunstan's Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing