We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlottetown Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charlottetown Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Tailor Shop is a gem of a small hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. We spent two very comfortable nights in room 8 on the first floor, a spacious room with a large bathroom. No busy floral wallpaper or knick-knack clutter! The buffet breakfast was more than adequate. Good wifi access. My only suggestion, get rid of the vases of plastic flowers in the otherwise sunny, comfortable sitting room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
11
50
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new city ny
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotels and B&B's in Charlottetown are very pricey, so I was thrilled to find this one for a very reasonable price. The location is unbeatable, it is within walking distance of everything; and they have onsite parking, which is very important. The managers are very nice, and very helpful.
Now, having said all that, I must add that they do the best with what they have. The house is old, of course the name: "historic", so yes, steep stairs and crooked floors. Who cares about that? But the decor is awful. When was the last time you saw those awful satin bedspreads, the 60's? The beds were moderately comfortable. But the breakfast; just horrible: what I think were hard-boiled eggs swimming in some off-colored liquid in a crock pot, and some mystery meat called sausage patties served by a sullen girl who never smiled and hardly spoke. Eat elsewhere! We did.
But for the price and the location, you can't do better in this city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel has an unbeatable location in Charlottetown. Charlottetown, itself, is very walkable. We had a nice room, with a good bathroom. The building is very old, and it feels that way.

The hotel provides a simple, self-serve breakfast, which was a refreshing change after the lavish breakfasts we'd been having at B&Bs previously. We did have the opportunity to chat with another couple in the small breakfast area which was nice.

The staff was extremely helpful. Parking behind the hotel was a nice bonus in a downtown neighborhood.

There is no elevator, and the stairs are steep due to the age of the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanibelsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here for three nights in June 2012.

Pros: Great location, reasonably priced and charming rooms with lots of character. The bathroom is very clean and the shower/tub is generously sized although the bathroom in our friends' room was considerably smaller (but still fine).

Cons: Nothing major - bedrooms are a bit cramped and the floors are crooked (which is common with old houses but might bother some guests). The beds are old and the mattress sags so it wasn't the most comfortable sleep.

Given the high prices of accommodation in Charlottetown, this inn is of good value and its walking distance to everything makes it very convenient. If I returned to PEI, I would consider going for a B&B next time around, but would recommend the Tailor Shop HIstoric Hotel to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to offer guests a comfortable stay in a downtown location at an affordable price. Our bathrooms all have been renovated so they are larger than what you would see in a heritage building. Thank you for recommending us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The good: Location, parking, great bathroom w jacuzzi, quiet and wi-fi. Friendly front desk staff.
Nicely appointed rooms.
We didn't know how to get the a/c to work and so didn't sleep well at all in spite of the fan on the celing and the fan in the a/c. [I think the unit may have been adding heat?] We hadn't asked about the a/c and no one instructed us - apparently you need to turn it right up to get any cooling. I've met any number of a/c units and this was the first one that I couldn't get to cooperate. When I commented in the am I was given more info - but too late by then.
There were 3 of us in 2 rooms and the experience of the beds was the same in both rooms - they seem to rise in the middle so you roll to the outside. I found the breakfast offering a bit boring: boiled eggs, some sort of sausage patty I think, and the usual toast, bagels etc. So I didn't eat there, went and got a coffee at Starbucks instead. Would I go back? Depends on what else is available and at what price but not likely.

Room Tip: Apparently quieter at the back. But access to the hotel is from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalMission_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and all the kind words. We would have been glad to help you out on the A/C unit if you told us at the time, we have added new units and they are all user friendly. We offer a different breakfast each morning to our guests so if anyone staying longer than one day gets a variety of items to choose from. We are happy you liked our service, location and amenities. We strive to offer our guests a great stay at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel in the heart of Charlottetown. This place has the vibe of an olden day hotel with its character filled rooms and charm in common areas. Stayed in room four which had a newly renovated bathroom with jacuzzi tub. We booked early and got 25% off which made it well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastcoasting100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently stayed here for a night and it was great! I had a beautiful room, which was a pretty good size with a wonderful bed. Service was excellent, they really make you feel like you are at home! I really enjoyed the location and the atmosphere and the parking. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#7 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#11 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

Property: The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
Address: 193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in center of downtown Charlottetown. Mid 1800's building with modern amenities. 8 rooms all with large ensuite baths 5 rooms with jacuzzis, private phone, cable tv, air conditioning, mini fridge, wireless internet. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing