We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff make all the difference!”
Review of Rodd Royalty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Royalty
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Hubley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff make all the difference!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a great stay at the Rodd Royalty Hotel - even when an air-conditioner malfunction happened the quickness of response from Isaac at the Front Desk and then Steve from maintenance was quite incredible. Steve knew what the problem was - knew it would take hours to complete - so quickly got us moved to an upgraded room and helped with the move - even making sure our new key-cards were working. Our room was beautiful before the upgrade and then the suite was so spacious and elegant! All 4 of us were really pleased with the complete stay and the pool and the included hot breakfast were both wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyfulann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown with fellow travellers. I am sorry there was an issue with your guest room when you checked in. I am glad Isaac and Steve fixed the issue quickly and provided you with a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    148
    78
    48
    22
See reviews for
204
125
25
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was large, clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast the next morning was very good. However, we were rather disappointed with the general look and cleanliness of the rest of the hotel facilities. The carpets did not appear to have been cleaned in a while and in some cases appeared to be worn out. The pool also did not appear to be clean. We had the impression that the hotel was under minimum maintenance and upkeep and may have seen better days. In spite of this our stay was OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvesWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Rodd Royalty with fellow travellers. We did not meet your expectations and you can be assured that the staff are going to pay closer attention to the cleanliness of our public areas.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I chose this hotel due to the reviews I had read online and the reviews were accurate. The hotel is next to a couple grocery store and the mall (Tim Hortons down the road). Mind you, Charlottetown is not that big of a city anyways so everything is relatively close. 4-5 Minute drive to downtown and about 30 min drive to Cavendish.

Hotel was very clean. The breakfast was typical for all other hotels (eggs, toast, cereal, sausage, waffles etc.)

A note for the pool: I don't have children, but noted that some small children were going down the water slide without their parents watching (No Fault of the hotel at all). The water slide has a big current from it and some of the small kids, maybe 5 or 6 yr old, had problems with staying above water. I had to pull a kid out of the water and hand him over to his guardian after he sucked in a bunch of water (that was the end of the slide for him). If you have small children you may want to stand near the end of the slide or have them wear a life jacket.

Rooms were spacious. We upgraded to a suit and glad we did. The suite had a separate room with a couch and tv.

We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retsekud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to share your stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown with fellow travellers. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast , swimming pool and other amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rodd Royalty when you travel to PEI again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Our first morning the GM was making balloon animals for the kids and giving us great tips for visiting PEI. Every single staff person stopped to say hello when you walked by. I've had no better experience anywhere as far as wonderful treatment.

There is a large pool with a twisty slide, guest laundry, conference rooms and free breakfast. Location is good an easy shot to downtown or Green Gables or any of the nearby beaches. Rooms are clean and roomy and quiet. Bathrooms are a bit small but functional. There are motel style rooms as well.

It's an older building but it's been renovated lately . It's not 5 star but the service certainly is! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown. I appreciate you sharing your great experience with fellow travellers.

The staff of the Rodd Royalty aim to deliver Maritime Hospitality to all of our guests.

I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel offers. We cannot wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had family home from Calgary and had never been to PEI. From the first time we walked into the hotel we were made to feel like we were Special. The first thing my family said when they walked into the room was WOW. Our whole experience at this hotel was second to none. I would highly recommend Rodd Royalty to anyone. Can't wait to visit again. Thank you from my Family and I.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and at the back which gave us easy parking and good access to the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so happy we could help deliver an awesome family vacation to PEI. Thank you very much for choosing the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown.

We can't wait to book your reservation for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a nice, clean and quiet hotel. Friendly staff, very personal too. Room was very clean, smelled good and the staff had the temp just right. Lol it was a hot day when we arived so the a/c was nice. I will deffinatly will stay there again. Oh and my daughter loved the waterslide. Thanks for the awsome stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review after your stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The water slide is pretty awesome. I am glad you daughter enjoyed it.

Thank you once again for sharing your stay with fellow travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waite, Maine
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The service we received from a particular staffer named Mary was above and beyond! The staff in general was incredibly friendly, like we've never experienced outside a Disney World hotel.

We actually stayed in a room in the main hotel as well as one of the drive up rooms, which we were able to clearly see on the site when booking (Expedia -- got a pretty nice rate, too, especially since it was mid-July). Both were great -- clean, very comfortable beds, flat screen TVs (two of them in the drive up suite), not a single complaint from me based on the rooms.

The free breakfast is really quite unbelievable. Scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, waffle maker, juice, milk, cereal, that were all IN a restaurant. We checked and double checked to be sure it was free.

Mary apparently told the staff that is was our son's fifth birthday (he told her at check in) and the chef came out from the kitchen with a pancake made like a cat's face complete with gummi worm whiskers! The guy who was inflating balloon animals for the boys (who ALSO knew it was his fifth birthday!) asked them t bring out a few more gummi worms for our 3-year-old! Not only did they, but the chef returned in 5 minutes with another pancake, and she asked, "Did I hear somebody else wanted a pancake?" This one was an adorable pig pancake.

This all happened at a FREE breakfast.

The small, but clean pool area was a favorite of our boys. We had to fight with them to go explore the beaches and island because they loved the pool with 105 foot water slide so much!

I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could, based on our exceptional experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey-Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
WOW! Thanks for the awesome review. I am really happy to hear what a great stay you had with us and we really appreciate you sharing all of your wonderful experiences at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown with fellow travellers.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Royalty

Property: Rodd Royalty
Address: 14 Capital Dr | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Royalty is conveniently located 5 minutes from the downtown core of Charlottetown and within walking distance to Charlottetown's shopping centers. Families especially love this accommodation's glass enclosed indoor saltwater pool and one of Prince Edward Island's largest indoor waterslide -- 105 ft. of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Royalty Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Royalty Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing