We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a Party Hotel so be Warned!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodd Royalty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodd Royalty
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“This is a Party Hotel so be Warned!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

If you haven't been invited to the party, this hotel is not for you! Yes, the hotel rooms have been haphazardly renovated (i.e. closet doors off their hinges) but you can't change the existing structure----small rooms, tiny bathrooms, dingy stairwells and people running up and down the corridors, in and out of the rooms at all hours of the night. Again it is the overall impression that counts and that includes all the small things that contribute to the entire experience. So here is our experience:

The television:
Good news: once you figured out how to make it work, there were many channels.
Bad news: figuring out how to make it work! When we called the front desk for instructions, we were told that we weren't the first guests to have a problem, although the desk clerk did say that she would find an empty room and see if she could "practice and guide us through the instructions". Well, we never heard back, so that evening called down again, only to be told that this was a maintenance issue and involved unplugging cables at the back of the television and moving them around. Eventually we gave up and managed to figure it out by day two.

Breakfast:
Good news that it was free.
Bad news is that it was terrible, what there was of it---boiled and peeled eggs in a hot water bath..okay, I know it was free but what was available was not replenished quickly at all (yoghurts, muffins, coffee, cutlery)....the eggs, however, were plentiful!

Parking:
good news, it was free
Bad news: almost impossible to find a parking space!

Staff:
Good news, they were all very friendly, especially the housekeeping staff.

Beds:
Very comfortable but still difficult to sleep with all the hall activity.

I think the problem is that this hotel markets itself to hockey teams (indoor pool with water slide should have been our first clue) and groups of people attending onsite parties. The renovations may have taken place but they seem to be more cosmetic. I am not sure what else could actually be done.

If price matters, this hotel is okay for a night or two but I think it might be worth it to check around and spend the extra money to stay at the Holiday Inn Express just down the road.

Room Tip: Maybe not in the main building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    144
    75
    46
    22
See reviews for
199
118
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I travelled to the Maritimes for a week in September, and for both nights we stayed in PEI, we stayed at this hotel. We got a very good price for the room and would not hesitate to stay here again!

It has been recently renovated, so our room was clean, modern, and updated. The bed was soft and comfortable, one of the best night's sleep I have ever gotten in a hotel. There was a nice flat screen TV, and a couch and coffee table and small loveseat by the bed which was very nice. The room also had a fridge and microwave which was great for food on the go. The bathroom was smaller but once again, clean and updated. The pool was great, and the waterslide was a lot of fun, even for adults! The hot tub was new and nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

The hot breakfast was pretty good. It was pretty standard, and the food was fresh and hot.

The location of this hotel is abotu a five minute drive from downtown Charlottetown. There is a Sobey`s right behind the hotel, and several other chain stores. Walmart is also a walk away from the hotel. We found this convenient as we got food from Sobey`s when we didn`t feel like going out for supper and forgot a few items for our trip we just walked over to Walmart.

Overall, I would 100% reccomend this hotel for the value and the modern updates! Definitiely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssa9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in second week of Aug 2011.
This is a good hotel, the room are nice and clean, it seems are all renovated recently.
Pool is good with water slide. Gym is small but neat & clean.
Breakfast is included in room rent, now much choice. You must be very early at breakfast or you will find not much left.
Location is good.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manjinder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the Rodd. We had a great experience here. This hotel is far superior in comparison to others in PEI. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The beds are very comfortable. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast is included and very good. Overall we have no complaints. Without a doubt we will go back to the Rodd Royalty Inn. Number 1 in our books.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkie161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Were. Surprise at the spaciousness of the room with it's own loft for the price. Rooms were clean and quiet. The pool area needed some attention. The slide was fun but the stairs are showing their age. The hallways look a little dated but the rooms are nice. Breakfast in the morning was one of e better continental breakfasts we had over our two week vacation. Staff at this hotel was also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed there during our two-week trip to the east coast. It was apparently renovated in 2010 and the hotel and the (hotel) room are very modern and nice. Everything resembles a much higher-priced hotel, from the lobby to the hotel room to the dining room where a lovely hot breakfast is served. I'd heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who's travelling to PEI. There is a motel portion and I don't know anything about it, my comments only pertain to the hotel. The only 'problem' we had was finding the address on Capital Drive. We found out that Capital Drive is actually the Trans-Canada highway - once you know that it would be easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmcd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel is still a run down, out of date property with new paint and wallpaper to hide the faults. They say it is newly removated but they have come up way short. Same old windows, A/C//Heaters, plumbing, electrical outlets, etc. We tried it again being hopeful they REALLY upgraded the property. No such luck. Sat away. Lots of other quality properties close by.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEISenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#18 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Royalty

Property: Rodd Royalty
Address: 14 Capital Dr | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Royalty is conveniently located 5 minutes from the downtown core of Charlottetown and within walking distance to Charlottetown's shopping centers. Families especially love this accommodation's glass enclosed indoor saltwater pool and one of Prince Edward Island's largest indoor waterslide -- 105 ft. of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rodd Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Royalty Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Royalty Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing