We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in historic inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dundee Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dundee Arms Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in historic inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms in the annex on the ground floor for a Friday and Saturday night. Our rooms were beautiful -- ours with a King size, very comfortable bed, and 2 doubles in the other room for my elderly mother and daughter. We were pleasantly surprised that both rooms had bar fridges and microwaves. The complimentary coffee and bath robes for use at the inn were also much appreciated. Hotel staff members were very attentive. When our free Wi - Fi did not connect, it was fixed quickly and we did not have any other problems. The noise level on the outdoor restaurant deck with the live performer was a bit loud, perhaps, but it did not go on for very late. Recommend the brunch. Superb stay and customer service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    78
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
47
128
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Staying here with my family in the first leg of our Maritimes tour we got what we expected - a small, intimate place with some modern amenities. The missing amenities are probably what would have us pick a different hotel next time, but it would be a trade off for the charm on this quiet street. So, no pool, gym or continental breakfast. No spa or sauna. Other than that everything was great.

Room Tip: It seems noisier closer to the ground since the restaurant is outdoors right below so a higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room my friend and i stayed in was quaint. The beds were comfy. We didn't get a room in the old part of the house!! I think that would of been great!!!! The shower was not very powerful and the hair dryer was slow!!!! We ate breakfast on the deck two times. Overall, the service was good. They don't have a lot of parking places so we had to park on the street. Luckily, it was during the week so we didn't have to pay the meter. Would of been nice if there had been more parking for guests.

Room Tip: I would of loved to have had the option to stay in the house part of the Dundee Arms.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaonacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Overall, we had a good experience staying at Dundee Arms Inn in Charlottetown, PEI. Dundee Arms' main building has a lot of historical character and is conveniently located to downtown Charlottetown. Even with the hotel being so close to downtown, it was very quiet at night. We could easily walk to all the stores and Confederation building, and it was a short drive to Victoria park with ocean views and a lovely boardwalk along the coast line. The room rate was reasonable, and the room was average and very well kept. The hotel offered free parking, though the amount of spaces were minimal and we considered ourselves lucky to secure a spot at the end of the day. The only meals we ate there were a shared appetizer of Irish nachos and then breakfast on our last day. The breakfast was very good. The only down side was that there was construction going on outside the hotel, and they started at 7AM each morning...no fault of the hotel. Other than that, it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at the Dundee Arms in June for two nights. We had a large room with four poster bed and jacuzzi bath with a separate shower and toilet. Our room was lovely and clean with all you need together with a nice selection of toiletries.

We had breakfast at the hotel (not included in the price of the room) and also one evening meal, both thoroughly enjoyable.

Lady on reception extremely helpful, infact all staff were friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee I, General Manager at Dundee Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us. I hope you have a great summer. All our best. Pat Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. Outdated and definitely not even close to value for your money. This place is OVERPRICED and OLD! The cancellation policy also changes to benefit the hotel. They have a 24 hr. cancellation policy, which I can understand, but once you check in and want to check out early they tell you they need 72 hours. Nowhere is this posted on their website.
If you want value for your money there are a lot nicer and less expensive places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda_C923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Clean, comfortable, relatively quiet and excellent service. The new annex building is modern with a flat screen TV (that's a bit on the smallish side for the size of the room)

Overall, a nice place, well run by Pat and her staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mationdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Arms Inn

Property: Dundee Arms Inn
Address: 200 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dundee Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic business district on quiet safe street in olde Charlottetown. This 1903 Queen Anne Inn and modern Annex have been welcoming guests for 42 years. 22 guest rooms, featuring private baths, colored televisions,free high speed wireless internet, telephones, air conditioning, non smoking atmosphere and guest parking. Award winning Dining Room, Lounge and a beautiful outdoor patio. Highly maintained property offering friendly personal service. Recommended by CAA/AAA and "Where to Eat in Canada" Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dundee Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Arms Hotel Charlottetown
Dundee Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing