We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Dundee Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dundee Arms Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Littleton, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Reserved late so got the last room available, in the annex, on the ground floor, underneath the stairs (not Dundee's fault). Noisy late night revellers were annoying as well as the necessity of leaving door open so as not to feel claustrophopic - again not the Dundee's fault as the room was very nice. However, I'd suggest the 2nd or 3rd floor where the drapes could be left open.

Room was modern, clean & attractive with a huge shower. Reading lights over pillows were very good (and very unusual) but no lights near the chairs which made them (chairs) unusable.

All personnel were pleasant and helpful. Front desk help training was inconsistent. The young woman who checked me in only programmed the room key for a single night - VERY inconvenient and annoying when returning from a day around the island and really needing the bathroom facilities urgently but having to go to the front desk for key reprogramming and waiting for that person to put a reservation requesting caller on hold.

Breakfast was excellent and very reasonably priced.

Al fresco dining area on the deck is very attractive and we used it as our outdoor reading and relaxing area in late afternoons.

In town location is excellent allowing for short wallks to dinner and waterfront.

Room Tip: Suggest 2nd or 3rd floor in annex, did not see any rooms in main building. Annex is contiguous to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMH993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    80
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
47
129
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a top floor room that required climbing some stairs that we didn't mind a bit. The staff (both at the reception and in the Pub) were courteous, friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent. The four poster, Q-bed in the copula was very comfortable w/windows on both sides. The adjoining den/room was cozy and well appointed. And everything was spotless. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to family and friends. Location is a bonus - easy walking to Confederation Centre and downtown Restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Dundee for two nights. It was clean and comfortable and in a very convenient location. On the first morning we left early for our Island adventures. Returning back later in the day, I spied my diamond ring on the nightstand where I had carelessly left it!
While I believe that most people are honest, I also know that some would have taken advantage of that opportunity. The honest person who cleaned the room certainly made our Island trip a positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent two nights at the Dundee Arms. We had a room in the main building (the Inn) on the top floor. We had been upgraded to a room with two queen beds. A bit of a struggle to lug our bags up to the third floor since the staircase in fairly narrow. The beds were very comfortable and although the room got fairly hot during the day, the air conditioning worked well to cool the room down for sleeping. Its a short walk to the main attractions in downtown Charlottetown. We also walked out to the Farmers Market on Belvedere (about 30 to 40 mins walk) via University Ave (not necessarily recommended) and then took a spur of the Confederation Trail back into the City via the waterfront. A nice way to see some of the City. We had supper on the deck on our first night and enjoyed the setting and food - a good burger and fish and chips!. After our second day, we spent time on the deck with evening drinks. Discount coupons were provided for the Inn's restaurant. We would return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had ourselves booked in for 3 nights and ended up adding another because we were having such a good time at Dundee. Brie, Beth & Stephanie, our go-to staff, took great care of us and made us feel like family. Neat, old world facility, extremely clean. Wonderful outdoor restaurant seating if the weather cooperates. Walking distance to all attractions/eating facilities in downtown Charlottetown. Rooms clean and though slightly dated, were up to our expectations. We would definitely go back and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallywhitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

While this property is advertised as an 'Inn' most of the rooms appear to be in the motel like building that is adjacent. The Inn presumably also contains some rooms as well as the restaurant. Rooms are Ok but nothing special. They do however contain a fridge,micro wave and coffee maker. The beds are quite comfortable. The hotel is located on a quiet street in the historic area of Charlottetown and is within easy walking distance of all the sights. Like most hotels in this city the place is seriously over priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Excellent location, nice room, beautiful hotel. To put it in short, this place has all the ingredients for a fantastic stay in Charlottetown which is a very nice place itself as well. We would definately come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cees77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Arms Inn

Property: Dundee Arms Inn
Address: 200 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dundee Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic business district on quiet safe street in olde Charlottetown. This 1903 Queen Anne Inn and modern Annex have been welcoming guests for 46 years. 22 guest rooms, featuring private baths, colored televisions,free high speed wireless internet, telephones, air conditioning, non smoking atmosphere and guest parking. Award winning Dining Room, Lounge and a beautiful outdoor patio. Highly maintained property offering friendly personal service. Recommended by CAA/AAA and "Where to Eat in Canada" Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dundee Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Arms Hotel Charlottetown
Dundee Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing