We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soggy sleeping”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were put in a room on the bottom floor. The room smelled slightly of damp cigarettes. There was high humidity in the air. The dehumidifier in the room did not help.

Breakfast was awful. Fake eggs,no OJ and the toaster barely made the waffle warm. Our apple was the only good thing.

The front desk staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably less damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriegirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your comments about our property. I am sorry that you did no enjoy your stay with us. I hope you will return in the future to allow us to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    150
    152
    100
    88
See reviews for
166
202
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Two couples on motorcycles show up after a long day on the road. We find that they have 2 rooms left at a very attractive price. Reading the other reviews, I understand now why the price was good. We were in the basement.
We were supposed to get 2 rooms with queen size beds. Our friends did but our bed was a double...not what we were looking forward to.
Nothing could be done about the bed as they were sold out. We were staying 2 nights and they could transfer us to another room the next day at considerably more money.
Our friends had a couch in their room but we didn't.

The hair dryer didn't work. The young man that responded was very personable but couldn't find one that we could use until next day. my wife went to the gym and used the dryer there. The next day same thing. No dryer showed up so a trip to the gym.

We were not very happy with the stay and would not go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant Genarl Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We do have rooms in a lower level and yes they are only rented as a last rent room. The rate does reflect the location. The transfer to a different room that was not the same as your friends was due to the fact that our hotel was full and we offered the only rooms available to the both of you. I am sorry that this was not acceptable. I hope you will reconsider and give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western in Charlottetown, staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities are very nice. The hotel was clean and well maintained and I will be using it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Friend69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback of our property. I will share your rating and kind words to our housekeeping team on the cleanliness of our hotel. I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in July. We were travelling with an infant and called ahead to see if we could have an early check in and the room was ready before noon on our arrival date. Also allowed us to have a late check out so we didn't have to rush in the morning which was very nice!The staff was very accommodating and gave us a huge room; if we were to stay here again we would definitely ask for a room with two beds as they are much larger than the rooms with one king bed. The free breakfast was ok, nothing special but there was enough options to feed just about anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniPug-MiniPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments. We are fortunate to have some terrific associates working on our team. I am pleased to hear that your needs were met to your satisfaction. I hope you will return and visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location was fine. Our room was lower level and being rushed, we dropped off our bags to go and explore the downtown. In hindsite, the dehumidifier should have been the tip-off. Had I any known sensitivities to mould or mildew, I would have asked for a different room. Reading the other reviews here just reinforces my opinion. Oh yeah, the included breakfast was not anything to brag about either. Would not recommend. Sadly dissapointed with Best Western Corporate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclearlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. During your visit we were in a sold out situation and the room you stayed in was one of our last rooms to rent. Our breakfast is in line with hot breakfast offerings within our brand and I am sorry you did not enjoy it. I hope your will return and allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations sometime in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we were in the main building (same side of road as the reception. everything in the room worked and it was clean, but slightly outdated.

Slightly overpriced for the room, but what you are paying for is the location - close to downtown food, bars, stores, harbour, etc. well within walking distance for dinner, etc.

The breakfast is pretty much the standard continental breakfast with a few hot items (scrambled eggs, sausages, French toast). None of it is excellent, but having paid the price for the room, we needed to take advantage of it. When you get your coupons at check in it seems like your getting a real restaurant breakfast included in your room. You are not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivartravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. Many guests enjoy the downtown location that we offer, close to many attractions. You make a very good point about receiving a coupon and expecting to enter a full service restaurant. We will look into that process moving forward, thank you that advice. Yes we offer a free hot continental style breakfast. I do hope we will see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were 3 couples on motorcycles that planned on staying one night. Wanted somewhere close to the downtown and waterfront that we could walk to if weather wasn't cooperating with us as had been most of our vacation so far. Good thing we picked this hotel. Our motorcycle broke down right after we crossed the bridge and it had to be towed to the Harley dealer. Of course as this was Sunday nothing could be done to it until morning. When my husband went there the next morning he found out that they would have to order the parts and they would not be in until the next day. The hotel was able to extend our stay for another night and we didn't even have to change rooms. The rooms were across the street from the lobby and very clean and roomy. The tunnel under the road was nice when it was raining and we needed to go over to the other side. The only thing we found was the breakfast room was very small for the amount of people that were there. Also the sausage was kind of rubbery. I guess sausage is easier to make instead of bacon but I am not a sausage person so I didn't get to have any meat either morning. Also two toasters would be nice as the line was always held up by people waiting for their toast or waffles. Other than that nothing bad could be said about this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful when we needed to stay again. Would stay here again if we were this way and would tell friends about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I do remember talking with one of your party about the unfortunate break down and the location of our Harley Dealer. We do offer space in our adjacent games room for breakfast during extremely busy times. We certainly would never want to schedule breakfast times and this does in fact cause some delays when many guests enjoy breakfast at the same time. I am very pleased you will share our property with your friends and I hope we will see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center

Property: Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
Address: 238 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing