We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable & great location!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This Best Western exceeded my expectations. I stayed on a busy weekend where the hotel was fully booked. Upon check-in I was upgraded to a premium suite which had a full kitchen & living room area with pull-out sofa, a separate bedroom with a king size bed, and a large bathroom which was very clean. The continental breakfast which was included was very enjoyable and comparable to other continental breakfasts. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with directions. The location was very central so I was able to walk to most attractions. The express check-out was perfect. All in all, it was an excellent stay and I would recommend this Best Western!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NStraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    148
    144
    97
    88
See reviews for
165
193
37
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel is fairly central and within easy walking distance to most tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However the room I was given was very tired and in desperate need of an update. The continental breakfast was pretty basic. This hotel is more like a motel and just didn't meet the usual standard for a Best Western. I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a two month period and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean. The pool and fitnesss facilities were great. I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeawayfromhome34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I had travelled to PEI on vacation and had a wonderful time exploring the island. For most of the time we stayed in a wonderful B&B that provided us with excellent service, etc. Unfortunately, they only were able to provide us with a room for 8 nights and we required one extra night before we left for home. In the past I have stayed at Best Western hotels and been satisfied with the quality of the hotels and services. So I chose to stay in the Best Western in downtown Charlottetown.
From the onset we were disappointed. The website clearly states that the place has been recently renovated. We were not aware that renovations were still underway. We arrived to find that they were in the process of re-roofing the building. Workers were on the roof and on the ground, protective yellow tape was stretched around the work area, and trucks were in the parking lot. From our ground floor room we could hear banging away until quitting time at 5:00 PM. And although workers were not permitted to start work again in the morning until 9:00 AM - they were on the ground long before that time. To add to our discomfort we were given a ground floor room that fronted on a reasonably busy street.
The hotel itself is actually composed of two sections on opposite sides of the street - and although it looks somewhat like the pictures provided by the website - the pictures must have been taken at just the right angle to make it look more glamorous than it really is. I would really classify it as a motel... that may have been upgraded sometime in the past. The interior walls and ceilings have a low end apartment feel about them. The first thing that I noticed was a smell in the hallway and in the rooms that I can't quite identify - old socks and cleaning fluid come to mind. Our room was small, and I felt that the furnishings appeared somewhat dated (around the 1980's). We had two double beds, two chairs, one lamp that worked and a flat screen TV. Breakfast was included but consisted of reheated waffles, muffins and yoghurt. Considering what is available at the hoteI, I feel that the hotel is overpriced.
We have complained to management, but they have essentially dismissed our concerns, and offered only excuses.
If you are considering staying in PEI... well you really should go...it is a beautiful island with many great places to visit. But skip the Best Western. If you really want a 'home away from home' find a nice little B&B instead. There are many to choose from on the island. The one we chose cost approximately a $100 a night and included a spotlessly clean and spacious room, King size bed, access to a living room, a full breakfast, a pond to sit by, and acres of grasslands and forest to wander. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. It was a true island experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
617 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is situated close to the downtown attractions of Charlottetown. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Check-in was effortless. The front desk staff was attentive and provided assistance with attractions and restaurants. The breakfast was muffins, waffles, juice, coffee - a standard continental breakfast.
What was set this hotel apart from some others I have stayed in was that the front desk responded immediately and effectively when rooms around us became occupied with a sports team that created noise problems. Upon lodging our concern with the front desk we were immediately moved to a quieter area of the hotel (we were the only guests in that area). The offenders were also given a warning to quiet down.
I was impressed with the customer service and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We got the "honeymoon" suite and there was nothing romantic about it. Holes in the ceiling old and dated sink counter and fridge in the sitting area. Had to put toiletries on the FLOOR as there was NO counter in the bathroom! It still had a 70's phone in the bathroom! Couldn't get change from the concierge for the pop machine and no one in the bar! The food was horrid and expensive. This place really needs an overhaul!!! Not worth the 140 PER NIGHT!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller123412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We arrived at the Best Western in an extremely rainy week before the PEI tourist season officially opened, and despite the weather, we had an excellent vacation thanks to the friendly staff at the Best Western. In fact we extended our stay from two nights to six. The staff were extremely helpful in answering our questions not only about the hotel, but about touring the island. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very nutritious and efficiently managed. (We never ran out of coffee, juice, eggs, etc.). The central location in Charlottetown could not have been better. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmkeatings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
702 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Property: BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Address: 238 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing