We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to base in PEI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Great hotel. I think it's a good value for the price we paid, but one night of the three was far more expensive than the other two. As far as I could tell, there were no special events in town which have been a factor in the price.
We opted for a King Suite - great choice. More expensive than a regular room - but very spacious and in the back of the hotel away from noise.
We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable.
Thumbs up:
- Great breakfast - by far best of the three places we stayed on our 9 night trip through NS and PEI. Choice of eggs (oemlet, scrambled, etc.), sausage or bacon (depending on day); the usual cold cereals, pastries, muffins, bagels, toast. Yogurt, bananas (on days we were there), hard boiled eggs, choice of juices, and very good coffee - all kept in great supply by a couple of hard-working gals.
- Clean!
- Comfortable beds.
- Refrigerator in room.
- Large bathroom and vanity with nice supply of shampoos, lotions, etc.
- Free WiFi internet access.
- Business center with patron access to internet.
- K-Mart a stone's throw away (for those forgotten travel items).
Thumbs down.
- Nothing really. They do cater to bus tours - which can make for crowded breakfasts, depending on your timing.

About a 10 minute drive to downtown Chalrottetown. The route can be very congested during rush hours. Easy access to all the scenic drives around the island.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pfadfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 472 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2008

I stayed here Sept.20/08 because The Super8 had overbooked and sold my room for the night (I will review that hotel tomorrow!)

I stayed in a king suite. The rooms are all non-smoking,the beds are wonderful pillow top mattresses,large flat screen TV and fridge.
The pool area was nice and clean BUT the pool was only 5ft deep and the hot tubs jets were not working properly.
The express breakfast is much better than most continental breakfasts. They offer some HOT foods like eggs and sausage.

Overall I will stay here again,the staff are nice,service is fast and the properly is well maintained and CLEAN.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chrissy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Stayed there recently. Hotel staff very friendly and very helpful. Hotel was clean, breakfast was great, constantly restocked. Our room was on the small side and a little crowded with our luggage. But a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

This hotel is on the outskirts of Charlottetown. It's about a 10 minute drive to downtown. The location was fine for us but the quality at the hotel was lacking. We had a small room at the back of the hotel with two beds. We only required one but were told if we wanted one bed it would be a king one and was $50.00 a night more expensive! There was hair on the floor of the bathroom and the beds are so soft our backs ached in the morning. check in was efficient and the front desk staff friendly and helpful.

The pool area needs maintenance. The bars to get into the pool and whirlpool were rusted and unsteady. Some tile was missing from the whirlpool area. The whirlpool didn't work and when we mentioned it to staff they didn't know about it. They promised to have it fixed but it never was. The outside light was burned out at the entrance to the back of the hotel. It made it difficult to see the entry way in the dark.

Unfortunately, and not the hotel's fault, parents allowed their children to run in the halls and jump on people in the pool as though it were a free for all. It amazes me how people can be so inconsiderate of others and allow their children to be so disrespectful of other's rights. At breakfast it was like a zoo with kids pushing and shoving to get food. It's as though they had never eaten. I felt badly for the ladies trying to keep food at the breakfast bar and clean up. Huge messes of food were left behind by people who apparently thought the staff were slaves to them. What a pity that some people have so few manners.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank Alberta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for the last day of vacation in PEI. It made up for the disappointing accomodations experienced in the first week of our stay. The front desk staff were very friendly, very helpful, above expectations. The suites were reasonably sized, modern & very clean. Hot breakfast was exellent, well stocked & reasonable variety.
The only disappointment was the pool area. It looks older than the rest of the hotel, needs some TLC & hot tub did not work.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Recently my wife and I visited PEI and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express.

The hotel is clean with a very friendly staff and the rates, for that region, were reasonable.

The only issue we had with the hotel is location, you have to drive everywhere as it is situated just on the edge of town.

Other than that, satisfactory stay, very clean and quiet, would be good for families with kids. Your standard chain hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank PJL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I read the reviews on here and studied all the places we could stay on PEI. We have a small son so we wanted something family friendly. I really didn't want to spend the amount of money per night on our stay but in looking at all the other places and the reviews on here it seemed that it would be worth the money. And it was. We were overall very pleased with everything. My husband checked us in and came out and said to me, "good choice for a hotel, the staff was friendly and efficient". What a sigh of relief. My husband and I took advantange of the babysitting service at the hotel. It was VERY reasonable. And I felt very comfortable with the sitter. It is the first time that we have done that but it was a great experience. The breakfast buffet is FABULOUS. They keep everything stocked. And it is really a hot breakfast...eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, etc. If you are travelling with your family I highly recommend this place because you get your moneys worth. Everything was clean and above average for this stay. No complaints on the room either. The only reason I couldn't give this place five stars is that we were really looking forward to the pool and hot tub. The hot tub jets were not working. And the indoor pool room was HOT but the pool was cool and my 2 year old never wanted to get in and get used to the water. My husband and I were really disappointed that the hot tub jets did not work. But, other than that, it was a perfect stay and I wanted to get on here and write a review right away!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reflectingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $128 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing