We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Late than Never”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here last summer for the Atlantic Canada International Airshow. I realized I had never posted a review so here goes. Upon our arrival, the manager was at the door, helping us unload our car. He quickly assigned a bellman to help us out. The location is convenient to Charlottetown and a bit of a drive to Sommerville, where the airshow was located. The hotel is a bit oddly laid out but after a short time, we found our way around. Turns out we were on the lower level, which was very convenient to the entrances other than the main lobby. My main impression was the attentiveness of the lobby staff and the manager. I understood he was new to the location and I sincerely hope his enthusiasm has not waned. Sorry for the late posting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Exit 105,
You are absolutely correct; better late than never! It is always great to hear feedback and comments like yours definately help to motivate the team. Although I am no longer the new guy in town, the enthusiasm is still here and our team is more focused and stronger than ever. We hope you have an opportunity to visit again this summer and appreciate your kind words.

Best wishes,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 490 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed there 6th & 7th May, site of hotel great for touring all of the island. All staff very helpful and efficient. Rooms excellent. Breakfast varied and very sufficient for ones needs. Had a problem with our vehicle and housekeeping sorted our dilemma within five minutes. Staff above and beyond what you would expect - be nice to them.

Room Tip: if you want the window open ask for rooms at the back, if you like watching the traffic get room 319
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team. It is great to hear that you found your room comfortable and relaxing. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This appeared to be one of the better hotels in the area. I was there on business and liked it very much. Wifi was strong, lots of outlets. housekeeping forgot coffee, but they brought some up instantly. The breakfast was better than average. Staff was very friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Charlottetown. I do appoligize for missing your coffee refresh and assure you that is not a regular occurance. I did discuss the matter with my executive housekeeper and have determined that during the change over to our new coffee machines we missed your room. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charlottetown and we will ensure there is plenty of coffee in your room.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked two nights in April to visit with family. The room was good. It was clean, with two queen beds that were a good fit for my family. Free hot breakfast was good enough for us; I'm up early, was able to go down and bring some coffee and snacks back to our room while we all woke up. I wished we had a fridge in our room, and that there was more than one ice machine, but we did fine with our cooler.

On the negative side, we did not know there were some hockey tournaments going on and many teams were booked here. Just as one review said, kids were out later and security wasn't doing anything. These teams seemingly own the place. By 9:30 my seven year old was crabby because he was unable to sleep, as the kids raced up and down the halls like a herd of elephants, calling out to each other on the way to the pool. The 'chaperones' were sometimes as bad as the kids, spending time conferring in the hallway with kids about what to put on their pizzas the next day. Walls and doors between rooms and halls are very thin, you can hear every word (particularly when the speakers are making no effort to be quiet). One kid in a swimsuit knocked on our door fairly late, apparently confused about where he was supposed to be.

I will say that once we went to the front desk to complain, they were very apologetic and the noise stopped for a bit. I called again later, and again something was done, the noisy people were quieted for the night (with one parent admonishing the kids saying, "You're not supposed to play hockey in the halls!"). I commented on it again the next morning, and the staff, while somewhat sympathetic, agreed that the sports teams are indeed noisy, but that these teams are how they make their money in the off season.

Maybe it's better in the summer, but I doubt we'll come back to find out.

Room Tip: If you're with a kid who wants to be in the pool, a room near the back is good. Park back there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalifaxKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Please let me begin by appologizing for your uncomfortable stay. Myself and my team at the Holiday Inn make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our hotel. I do understand your concerns and although we do make every effort to ensure that our guests are not disturbed by large groups in house sometimes the noise prevails. We do ask that all of our sport teams sign an agreement stating quiet time begins at 10pm and we do hire security to patrol our hallways to try and ensure that other guests are not disturbed. Once again I appologize for not meeting your expectations and do hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Charlottetown.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a great hotel! There's a lot of hotels around, but this is truly a place where they know what "hospitality" is all about. Excellent location and amenities, but mostly, I'd like to talk about the service. If you have the pleasure of meeting the General Manager, you'll see why the staff are so happy and helpful. The staff are all perfectly at ease and able to give EXCELLENT service because they are treated kindly, trained well, and especially well-selected. I travel a lot, and whether I'm on business or traveling with the whole family, this is a great place to stay. Breakfast is extensive, and the kids love the pool and the Family Suites, but it's truly the SERVICE that makes us come back again and again.

Room Tip: The family suites are fantastic for kids and parents alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for providing great feedback regarding your stay. We truely value our employees and I am happy to hear you do as welll. They consistently do a great job taking care of our guests and they enjoy doing so. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip for 3 nights. I booked the King Jacuzzi suite for my stay. The rooms are beautifully renovated. My only feedback for improvement would be:
-Curtains to be placed over the blinds in the room so the light does not come in as much
-Plugs to be placed in easier to access areas
-Instructions should be provided for the jacuzzi tub
-Fabric Softener needs to be used on the towels as they are very rough
Apart from that the rates were extremely reasonable and the room very comfortable, would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolCanuckChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for providing us with this excellent feedback regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn. It is great to experience our property from a guest perspective and it is great to have feedback with which to try and improve our offerings. We look forward to hearing any other suggestions you might have and hope you visit again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel really feels like Charlottetown. Inviting, friendly, homey. Its not particularly a new building, but the rooms are spacious (enough) and clean (enough). Its your standard Holiday Inn experience, really. Free parking is a bonus. I had a good night's sleep all 3 nights I was there, and it was quiet too. I like that my room had a fridge and microwave, which meant I didnt have to cram my lunches into a mini-bar fridge. The staff is very friendly. They have cookies at the front desk for a midnight snack, which is a nice touch.
The standard Holiday Inn breakfast is lack-lustre. Powdered eggs, sausages from a box, pancakes from a machine....but it did the trick.
It was just what I needed for my business in Charlottetown and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the extra amenities we offer helped to make your stay more comfortable.

Kind Regards,
thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 24 in Charlottetown
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
575 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 24 in Charlottetown
294 reviews
2.6 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $114 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing