We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at a lot of HIExpresses and this is the best that I've been to.
The breakfast was much better than what you get in the US. All the same stuff, just better. The eggs were like real scrambled eggs, they didn't have the sort of synthetic feel and taste that you find in the US. And the sausage tasted better too.
The desk staff were very nice, and someone even cleaned the snow off my car before I got out there in the morning.
The only negative is that it's not withing walking distance of downtown, otherwise it would be a 5.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

It is refreshing to hear that you enjoyed the little extras we like to offer to our guests such as clearing snow off your windshield and offering the highest quality breakfast items our brand has to offer. Thank you for providing us with this positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 486 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had to stay on the Island for one night and selected the Holiday Inn Express as we had stayed here before. Didn't realize when I made the reservation online that there was a ringette tournament in town and that the hotel would be teeming with excited young ladies. But they quieted down by 9:30PM so sleep was not a problem. Getting through the breakfast was. With so many young and hungry athletes, the food line never let up and some food stations were often empty. Maybe they knew I didn't need to eat so much anyway.
Comfortable, simple room, and after accessing HD TV at home, realize how much better it is than the old TV signal in the hotel room.
Simple to access WiFi from the room!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT-PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay and I am sorry to hear that some of our breakfast options ran out before you made it through the line up. The breakfast rush you experienced is not our normal breakfast experience and I do hope you try our breakfast again in the near future. With respect to your comments regarding HD television, I completely agree with you. In fact, we are currently in the process of changing suppliers and we expect to have full HD programming available in all of our guestrooms by the end of February.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great hotel. The front entrance is quite inviting and the staff are wonderful. I have stayed here twice and look forward to coming back. The location is easy to find and within minutes of down town Charlottetown and resturaunts. A local favorite (Peter Pan's - Awesome Burgers) is close by too. They have a free shoe shine service that I would highly recommend taking advantage of. Typical breakfast (at least they have one), with eggs, pancakes and bacon!

By far the best thing about this hotel though is the beds! I love laying down and just feeling the stress of the day melt away. These beds are really amazing, i wish all the places we have stayed were of the same quality.

Oh yeah, they are a 100% pet friendly hotel. We travel with two dogs and there was no "hidden" fees. If you do not travel with pets though, fell assured that this place is spotless. We always check the nooks and crannies before settling in, and this place is 100%. No issues found.

Highly recommended for your Island stay.

Room Tip: Use the shoe shine service, they do a great job and it's Free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFourTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback on how we are doing, it is great to hear that our efforts are appreciated. I have to agree, Peter Pan does make great burgers. We look frward to hosting you on your next visit to PEI.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is very easy to find as you drive into Charlottetown from the Confederation Bridge. It is located near two grocerie stores and several "big box" stores. Historic downtown Charlottetown is only a 5 minute drive away.

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express. My bed was very comfortable but the walls in my room had not been cleaned for a long time as I noticed lots of dirt, smudges, and even a greasy hand print! My room also included a mini fridge and microwave.

The breakfast was standard and included cereals, bread & bagels, fruits, juice, and coffee.

The fitness facility was small, but adequate, and the pool looked to be a decent size (although I did not use it).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I wanted to let you know that I forwarded your comments to our maintenance department and the room you stayed in has been repainted to offer a nicely refreshed look. Thank you for making me aware of the need to refresh this room and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette, General Manager Holiday Inn Expres & Suites Charlottetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel staff is extremely helpful and courteous.
The hotel is situated right off the main road is easy to find.
The rooms are what you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand. The bed was extremely comfortable and high off the floor - which is always a plus with me.
The laundry room is almost a lounge with wing chairs, pop and snack machines.
The gym and pool are also well maintained.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker ask for a room with a door leading directly to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibi_azim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded mattress! I hope you didn't have to spend too much time lounging in the laundry room and were able to enjoy Charlottetown and all it has to offer. See you next time!

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were in town for the Prince Edward Island marathon and booked the Holiday Inn only because it is dog friendly. I expected it to offer only the basics, but it was much more! Very clear hotel, comfortable beds and nice decor. There was a clean and well equipped gym, pool and hot tub.

The hotel staff kindly offered a late check-out - 3 pm - because I was running the full marathon. So important for me not to have to rush afterwards! I really appreciated it.

The breakfast was decent - not memorable, but offered everything needed and it tasted fine. There was lots of selection, so I was able to figure things out for the big race day.

Room Tip: If you have a dog with you ask for the first floor. There are sliding doors in the rooms, so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarathonChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

It was a pleasure having you and your fellow marathon runners at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the late checkout!

See you next year,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed two nights at this motel and found it clean, comfortable, and with excellent service. We dealt with several people at the front desk, all of whom seemed to go out of their way to assist us. I had some business to take care of which required use of the computer, copies of pages printed out, and the faxing of materials. All of these things were done efficiently, and without additional cost. The breakfast was exceptional.

We usually like to stay at independent lodgings with a flavor of the locality, and do not usually stay in a Holiday Inn. A problem arose on this occasion with our reservation elsewhere, so we took this room out of necessity. Notwithstanding our reluctance initially, our experience at this Holiday Inn Express was strikingly positive, motivating me to recommend this motel as an exceptional place to stay in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at the Holiday Inn. I am very pleased to hear that our team exceeded your expectations and were able to ensure your visit was a memorable one.

Best wishes,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $92 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing