We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good staff, convenient location outside of down, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I will stay again. The negative thing is the price of the rooms are a bit high. I stayed here for weeks. I'd stay again but like all Holiday Inn's - the free breakfast is not very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lornegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 472 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have stayed here several times. Nice clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Clean smelling rooms.

Although on this trip, I got a non smoking room that had been smoked in. I went back to the front desk and told them. They upgraded me the presidential suite. It was an amazing room!

Huge swimming pool. Great to exerise in.

Fantastic excerise room!

However, the normal rooms are great.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed in HolidayInn Charlottetown twice in the last month and so (close to 3 weeks all together). Teh hotel is very decent - newly renovated adn clean. Staffs is very pleasant and helpful. They made me feel at home from the day one. Their service is exemplary too.
The drawback is the location, but considering that everyhting is close in Charlottetown, that is I guess not a major issue. I defintelly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the sweetheart tournament for female hockey. The hotel was great for having all the hockey players! Our only issue is that the pool heater broke on our stay so the pool was ice cold. The kids still went in but many of us parents couldn't bear the temperature! Lots of selections for breakfast and one can still eat healthy with the choices avaliable!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011. Facilities are good as this is a new hotel. Only exception was in-room internet. SLOW, SLOW. SLOW. Gave my concerns to the front desk, response was "well its the week-end and our provider has no staff available" (i.e. - tough luck). If you want to go anywhere you must drive as the location is near NOTHING within walking distance. 15 minute to downtown and then find someplace to park. All the good restaurants and attractions are away from this location.

Next time we will pay an extra $10-$15 a night and stay someplace more convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quiet and relatively private.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I booked a family 'suite' for my family, two adults and two teenagers. To call it a 'suite' however was a misnomer. The 'suite' is really just a standard room with a dividing wall to create a room with bunk beds near the window. With a king size bed in the other part there was little room for anything else and was too small for four people. While such squashy accommodation may be acceptable in an expensive city it was unaccceptable in a small town and the hotel is greedy to design it that way (it was not cheap either). The hotel was however very clean, pet friendly and the kids liked the X-box and the pool. The breakfast was OK - your usual chain hotel breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are a family book two rooms and don't bother with the family suite.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secretsquirrel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Have stayed here several times now and have always had an enjoyable stay. Great beds, friendly front desk staff and yummy breakfast.
This is my definite choice for a place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totraveller12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
266 reviews
2.6 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $126 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing