We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in Every Way !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northside B&B
Ranked #11 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for 4 nights last year and had an absolutely wonderful time. Vaunda and Martin were very gracious hosts, attentive to our needs and helpful with our inquiries. Vaunda is an accomplished cook and her delicious muffins and breakfasts sustained us for most of the day. The B&B is well-situated, close to the beach and national park, bicycle path, drive-in movie theater, lobster and oyster restaurants. Friendly people, scenic location and a relaxing atmosphere await at the Northside B&B !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was our favourite of all the places we stayed in Canada. Vaunda is an excellent host and we would heartily recommend Northside to everybody. She anticipated all our needs, providing a pot of tea on arrival and beach passes for our stay.

Breakfast was a delight — different every day, always with a large variety of enticing dishes ranging from pancakes with homemade strawberry sauce to mushroom omelette to fresh blueberry muffins. We were completely stuffed every morning, in the most satisfied way.

We can't recommend Northside B&B enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnazzyOwlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had a great time at the Northside B&B--Exceptional value for the location, (very close to most golf courses, lobster suppers, Brackley Beach etc.) the comfortable rooms, and the ample breakfasts each morning. The hosts Vaunda and Martin were very good to us--Now we understand why this place is so popular--They even give you the use of a Provincial Park pass for your stay, which is necessary to access most of the beaches/parks you want to visit on the island (you would be out about $50 if you had to buy one). Each room has it's own bathroom/shower so no sharing with other guests in the morning, a real bonus for a B&B. We also enjoyed freshly baked muffins every day with breakfast--delicious. If we're lucky enough to visit PEI again, we hope to return to the Northside for sure, good times and great hospitality--Thank-you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CR_Travels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

It's centrally located on the Island within walking distance of the north shore and 20 minutes drive of both Charlottetown (where the only commercial airport and most of the restaurants and shops are) and Cavendish (for L.M. Montgomery pilgrims). It's all on ground level, each bedroom has its own bath and TV, and everything is of that size that's comfortable yet cozy. The owners are friendly and informative, and every morning's breakfast had coffee, orange juice, a hot egg dish, freshly-baked muffins and more. They also accommodated our not-B&B-typical needs, such as leaving the door unlocked when we were returning after a midnight movie at the drive-in, and providing free high-speed wireless Internet access. All this for only $55 a night!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyama, B.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Arrived late in the day and hosts were off to square dance but directed us to where we could eat that evening. Absolutely everything you might need was in the guest room and ensuite. Breakfast was great and muffins and apples for the road to boot! Definitely will stay there again if we go back to PEI in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyama_B_C_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This B&B was in a great location to use as a home base to PEI's tourist sites, golf and restaurants.Value wise it could not be beaten it was by far the most reasonably priced B&B that we stayed in the Maritimes. Accomodations were very good and clean with a nice ensuite bathroom, there is no other guest area to use but because we were on the go all the time it was not needed. Our hosts were very friendly and provided us with a great breakfast that changed if you stayed consective days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westcoaster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at the Northside B&B this past June for two nights. Martin and Vaunda are wonderful hosts and made us, including our yellow lab feel welcomed in their home. The rooms were all spotless; each with their own bath, breakfast was a choice of two different hot items along with muffins, coffee, etc.

The Northside Bed and Breakfast is a hidden gem in the right location. There is a drive-in about 5 minutes away and Green Gables is maybe a 15-20 minute drive.

Martin and Vaunda made us feel like family while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmoore406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottetown
1.6 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
2.7 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
11.8 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#2 of 43 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northside B&B

Property: Northside B&B
Address: 4386 Portage Road | Oyster Bed Bridge, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northside B&B Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing