We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and good food”
Review of Globe World Flavors - CLOSED

Globe World Flavors
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice place and good food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a very busy place on the row and we had to eat indoors. The vibe and atmosphere are fun and hip. We were greeted and promptly seated since it was 9pm and we had a young person with us and were told we needed to be out by 10. Our cocktail order came quickly and they were delicious. Several of us ordered the fish and chips and it was great and it came out very quick. One person in our party did not receive his entree and after the rest of us were almost done eating we finally saw the waitress and brought it to her attention. She had not put his in and after 10 minutes it was served and it was very tasty. So-go when its not too busy, order the sweet potato fries they are amazing and leave the kids at home so you can be less rushed! I do commend the manager he did not charge us for the missing entree. I would love to try this place again and sit outside and enjoy the ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NuclearMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Flavor at it's best...this place does not disappoint!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Snuggled away in downtown Charlottetown in a great location on Victoria Row, The Globe, as it is known, lives up to it's expectations of world flavors. With sidewalk seating filled to capacity this night and a live band playing across the street, we had to sit inside on this warm evening. The restaurant inside is trendy, with an abundance of friendly staff. We were quickly seated, and our drink order taken. The menu offers a great selection of food items and is diverse and very affordably priced. We have eaten here before, and have never been disappointed. This night, my husband ordered the 'award winning chowder," and a Greek Salad served with chicken. The chowder? Outstanding, and perhaps the best he has ever eaten anywhere. It was literally a meal in itself and did not disappoint portion or taste wise. The Greek Salad was good, but not necessary after eating the one size only chowder. His only criticism of the chowder would be to possibly consider offering a smaller size chowder portion, for those who purchase an entrée off the menu, or for those who like seafood chowder, this is an entrée in itself, and there is no need to order anything else with that literally huge bowl of chowder! I ordered the Apple Maple Walnut Salad topped with Goat Cheese, with a side portion of chicken breast. The taste...unbelievable. Fresh greens, tossed in a light maple vinagarette, with apple slices and walnuts, and topped with warm goat cheese. The flavour was absolutely incredible and did not disappoint, but would have preferred just a few more walnuts in it. The above was served with complimentary fresh baquette bread slices, which was tasty as well. If you are strolling around downtown Charlottetown, and looking for a great place to eat, put this on your "must stop at" places. The food and atmosphere won't disappoint!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Island_Food_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great friendly service. Good food.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside. The gentleman with bluest eyes lit the outdoor heater for us promptly after we sat. He was polite & chatty. Our waitress was friendly, and chatty as well. We had ice cold beer, clams & mussels. The clams were a little gritty but I reckon that is expected of clams. The mussels were very tasty. They also gave us complementary bread with strawberry butter. When we asked for more & it wasn't a problem. It was a great location with live music being played across the street. A great spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jettboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the chowder and a smoked salmon special - fabulous!! My husband had a delicious tomato soup and Reuben. Wine was expensive but great. Service was great and we got to enjoy outdoor entertainment to make ambiance even better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best seafood chowder- Poor ambiance”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Walking into the Globe was an unintentional return to the style of the 70's and 80's.

They missed on the ambiance but scored high on their seafood chowder. On PEI, I had seafood chowder at 5 different restaurants, and the Globe was by far the best!

I ordered a bowl, not a cup. Should have guessed, by the price $12.99, that it would be a meal in itself. Worth it. Also order a chicken salad $12.99, which was tasteless and very overpriced. I only had a bite, decided it wasn't worth the calories and didn't finish it.

What I found strange, was that the waiter, when bringing the bill, didn't comment on the full salad which remained......

Do I truly think this restaurant deserves a 4, no. BUT since the chowder was so incredible, I gave it to them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Globe World Flavors also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing