We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chic café in Charlottetown - delectable!”

Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 254 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: European, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A chic café in Charlottetown - delectable!”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We visited Leonhard's on our first day in Charlottetown and kept going back! The atmosphere is beautiful and relaxed. Amazing soups, salads and house-made breads... I loved the smoked salmon salad served with tomato-herb focaccia. The vanilla roll was also beautiful and delicious!

The only fault I found with this place was this: the croissants are not good. The chocolate one that I tried was so bad that I couldn't eat it. But this appears to be an anomaly. Everything else that we tried was delicious, flavourful and freshly-made. There are several healthy options, with no compromise on taste. They are open for breakfast and lunch only. Service is friendly and Leonhard himself was always there, and quite charming to boot!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1aGourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    118
    27
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cafe lunch!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stopped for lunch and had soup and sandwich and we really enjoyed our meal. The service was outstanding. We didn't have any but the baked goods looked great and they had lots of coffee/tea options. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a lunch spot in Charlottetown. Lots of fresh healthy options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch on PEI”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Had read reviews on Tripadvisor, our 1st meal on the Island: a home run. Axel is a wonderful host. Service was superb, soups yummy, schnitzel like in Germany, desserts to die for (especially the Turtle Cheesecake). Reasonable prices. Go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TGMson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Gluten-Free Soup”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Travelers who don't eat gluten should have lunch at Leonhard's. I had a bowl of their wonderful curry mushroom soup which was very rich and flavorful. Their menu features both gluten-free and regular dishes. The staff is attentive and pleasant. The decor is comfortable vintage, colours are soft and accented with crystal. The effect is very pretty. It is conveniently located in the downtown historic district.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverMaryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in and old world charm setting”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

On the advice of a friend we decided to give Leonhard's a try.

We will definitely return. The food was delicious, the service attentive, and the setting was delightful.

Thank you Axel and Alex your establishment is a gem.

....and thank you to Garth, our friend, who gave us the recommendation

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmotValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing