We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mia Restaurant

Casa Mia Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 241 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

More and better food than Cora's even, and for a lower cost. Not overly friendly, but they were very accommodating for special orders. They then brought the wrong stuff out, but fixed it and brought out the original order very quickly once told. Nice big omelettes with a lot of fillings!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    25
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Food ~ But....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful food, big helpings, great taste, however, a very dirty floor, as well as sticky tables and smudges on the walls and mirrors. Service was slow and quite unattentive. No checking in through the meal and no smiling or banter from any of the staff, just serious looking "robots" taking plates to and from diners. This place has the potential to best one of the best lunch spots in town but it won't be unless somebody does a big clean-up and some staff motivational courses.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandCowgirl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The cafe itself is modern but located in a building with a Victorian facade.

I had the Blue Milano coffee at $2.29 which included refills although I thought the coffee was very bland in flavour. I ordered the Casa Mia Eggs Benedict ($10.99). It consisted of three eggs on a homemade baguette with Black Forest ham, Hollandaise and "hash browns" which was really a misnomer as they were really large chunks of potatoes with skins on. There was not much to taste here as far as the Eggs Benedict goes. The Hollandaise was the most bland sauce I have ever tasted. It was not rich and buttery, nor was there any lemon tang as there should be. The only notable components of this dish were the large amount of hash browns which were sweet and delicious.

This was one of the spots recommended, but there are a number of cafes and breakfast spots in this one little area, so next time I would check out the other spots.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fuzzybearHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Went for lunch with my wife one day. Sat outside where we breathed in idling vehicle fumes for most of our lunch. The sandwiches we received were alright, nothing to blow your mind about, your everyday, run of the mill panini with no imagination. The thing that turned us off was our wilted, and rotting salads. The greens were half bad and it looked like they had tossed them in a vinaigrette 2 hours before lunch service so the oil just saturated the already wilting greens. Pretty disgusting. The service was kind of slow so we will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travcan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique flavors on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I visited Casa Mia Cafe for breakfast on a solo trip and again went there with friends for lunch.......and I must say both experiences were delightful. As I was travelling on business, I was looking for a place to have a healthy but delicious meal and the unique nature of the menu attracted me to this place. My first meal at Casa Mia Restaurant exceeded my expectations. The staff were very courteous and responsive. Each meal I had seemed to be prepared with an infusion of flavors and color. My work colleagues enjoyed it as well and highly recommended it to the locals.
It is a lovely restaurant with a pleasant ambiance serving unique flavors.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozonechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mia Restaurant also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Casa Mia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing