We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful heritage house,awesome.”
Review of The Dawson House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dawson House
Ranked #6 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

well done rooms and common areas with lots of antiques.4 rooms all with jacuzzi tubs in bathrooms,very friendly area with a nice pool in the back.

Room Tip: ask for honeymoon suite,pretty sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

My parents and I stayed at the Dawson House for two nights early in May. The accomodations were very clean and comfortable but what sets this B&B apart from others is the warm friendly service provided by our hosts; Stacy and Randy.

Stacy and Randy have customer service down T, upon our arrival we were greeted warmly, we rec'd a quick tour of the premises and were then shown to our rooms.
Throughout our visit, Stacy and Randy were happy to accomodate any and all of our requests and always with a smile. They can't do enough for you.

Like other reviewers when I'm back on "the lsland" I'll be sure to stay with Stacy and Randy at the Dawson House!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WMR_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Dawson House for 2 nights as part of a trip to the Maritimes. The B&B is an absolutely beautiful old home located very close to downtown Charlottetown. Each room in the B&B is unique and is decorated with great attention to detail.

From the moment we arrived, owners Randy and Stacey made us feel completely comfortable and at home. They were incredibly friendly and gracious, and provided us with lots of information on where to go and what to do on the Island. We were cooked delicious breakfasts each morning and were provided with an absolutely fantastic experience. I would highly recommend the Dawson house to anyone visiting Charlottetown!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laranbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Very well-prepared and thoughtful! I called to book a room for 3 nights 2 days before I arrive and had a chance to experience 2 different rooms, captain's and charlotte's and had the same good feeling-cozy and felt like home. You'll have fruit and water ready for you in the dining room 24/7, slippers by the doorway. I'm lucky to have such a nice place to stay in PEI in such a rush reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sangogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We loved staying at the Dawson House. The owner was very friendly, hospitable and helpful. We felt very much at home. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast scruptious. Easy walking distance to the water and to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steworcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I have been attending the Shellfish Festival in Charlottetown for the last 3 years and have been staying at the Dawson House each year. Stacey and Randy make your stay very special, it's like being home. We will be attending the Festival again next year and hope to book all of the rooms for friends who will also be attending.
Thanks again Stacey and Randy for your hospitality.
l

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3DDD9460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

anyone visiting the island should stay at dawson house.this place is beautiful.the owners are amazing people and made our trip.next time round we,ll be staying at the dawson house again,and you should too .absolutly 5 stars in our books!!!!!!!! :0)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakingsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
772 reviews
0 mi away
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Elmwood Heritage Inn
#1 of 43 in Charlottetown
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#3 of 43 in Charlottetown
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlotte's Rose Inn
Charlotte's Rose Inn
#4 of 43 in Charlottetown
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Charm Inn
Colonial Charm Inn
#2 of 43 in Charlottetown
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson House

Address: 122 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: $135 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 4 Star, heritage B&B and Spa was built in 1852 by Colonial Thomas Dawson and was the home of the late PEI Premier, Joseph A. Ghiz. Elegant guestrooms with modern amenities. Spacious grounds with large deck, garden and swimming pool. Downtown and Victoria Park are all within strolling distance. Ample private parking. Bilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dawson House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing