We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma's Tea Room...a taste of 'home'!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I took 2 of my very good friends to Grandma's Tea Room which is located within the Trailside B & B. I wanted to give them the 'English tea & scones experience'!! ..and what an experience! The owner Cindy welcomed us at the door, we were invited to 'sniff out' our choice of tea at the Tea Sniffing Table' and then the best bit....choose from a wide selection of fancy hat, beads & purses in order to become..'ladies who do tea'!!! What a hoot! We sat down to a beautiful array of dainty squares...(the lemon & butterscotch ones are AMAZING) and the highlight....scones with jam & clotted cream!! UNBELIEVABLE!! Just like being back home in England! The service was delightful, the gardens beautiful and the whole experience made my friends week. An absolute 'must try' on your vacation to PEI!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichellePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

I will be honest my husband and I choose Trailside B&B for it's affordability. Neither one of us has had the opportunity to visit Canada and we have heard from so many people say that it is breathtaking. What a beautiful home. It is a sharred bathroom but my husband asked me what I would consider calling a bathroom in a restaurant. He is right no big deal and it wasn't. There were 2 rooms upstairs and 1 bathroom and a quaint little sitting area with movies. The couple who were staying in the next room were a hoot! The 4 of us had tea together and wore hats. It was a blast. Our room overlooked beautiful gardens and a pond. Excellent breakfast served ontime and delicious. Cindy and Guy were great hosts and really know the best places to visit. We ended up staying 2 extra days with them although we had to switch rooms to a lovely room downstars as our room was previously rented but we were pleased to have the additional nights at Trailside. My husbands best part of the stay was the quiet and peaceful house. I am an avid scrapbooker and Cindy has a gift shop full of scrapbooking items, and other items, I just really remember the scrapbooking items :) Anyhow I had the opportunity to scrapbook while I was there and pick up all kinds of nifty things to bring home to finish my PEI abum. We will definatly look up Trailside on our next holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quikdrawandangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This B&B is very close to the Confederation Trail and I would certainly recommend it for someone who is biking and needs a place to stay close to the trail.

The room we stayed in (2nd floor) was clean, the bed comfortable (but only a double, as advertised, but we prefer larger) and had everything that we needed. The "sitting room" was equipped with a TV, VCR, some video tapes and was pretty comfortable.

We don't normally stay at B&B's with shared washrooms but this wasn't really a problem although we do certainly prefer our own facilities. The washroom had an older tub that had been retrofitted with a shower with curtains all the way around the tub. Not particularly appealing however at least it was a shower. Previous guests had written a number of comments in the past about bathtub only not being desirable so I guess this was the Owner's solution. I'm actually fairly surprised that the upstairs hasn't been renovated to put a 2nd bathroom in. Each of the upstairs rooms could have their own ensuite bathroom by removing the multiple closets in the bedrooms, bathroom and sitting room and installing showers and toilets. There is certainly enough room. Perhaps the Owners will change this in the future? It would bring their star-rating up and they could increase their room rates with private washrooms.

Breakfast was OK, certainly nothing fancy, or even really plentiful, but adequate. The "breakfast room" is a bit of a disappointment. Breakfast would certainly be more enjoyable in the tea room section of the establishment, in our opinion.

Although this was the least expensive B&B we stayed at during our PEI vacation it wasn't the least enjoyable but it certainly wasn't the most either.

We are very experienced B&B guests and I think with B&B's to a great extent you get what you pay for. We paid for and received a $60 B&B experience, nothing more, nothing less. More experienced B&B'ers looking for an outstanding experience should reconsider.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 一階と二階に部屋がありますが、景色はどこも同じようなもの。壁が薄く隣客のいびきが 聞こえてくるので 気になる人は耳栓を持参した方が良いですよ。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kyontoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gab W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: elles sont toutes sympas, car décorées avec des thèmes. La première que nous avons eue était à l'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scornaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottetown
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
272 reviews
7.8 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
187 reviews
7.5 mi away
Brackley Beach Hostel
Brackley Beach Hostel
#14 of 17 in Charlottetown
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aloha Tourist Home
Aloha Tourist Home
#16 of 43 in Charlottetown
66 reviews
6.5 mi away
Elizabeth's Bed and Breakfast
Elizabeth's Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 43 in Charlottetown
13 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 43 in Charlottetown
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast

Address: 545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended & conveniently located on the Trail, 4/10/20/30 minutes to the airport, downtown Charlottetown, PEI beaches & Cavendish. Comfortable describes our 2 rooms with 2 singles, a full bath/shower and sitting room. The B&B also has 2 rooms with doubles on the main floor, 2 baths and sitting room. This is a private bath for a family renting two rooms. Package PEI starts with a tea pot tour of our organic perennial gardens, following with the best tea, scones & cream at Grandma's Tea Room (on premises) ending with a make and take scrapbook event sure to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beside The Trail Bed And Breakfast Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing