We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sonata Inn
Nearby Hotels
$208
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Great George(Charlottetown)
$192
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
$156
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairholm National Historic Inn(Charlottetown)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
$220
$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
$77
$70
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbour House(Charlottetown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banbridge Inn(Charlottetown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
238
100
21
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
100
21
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon kitchen areavictoria parkwithin walking distancedowntown charlottetownroom was largequichefew blocksbagelsbaked goodshot dishold househelpful with directionslaundry facilitiesexcellent locationgreat place to stayevery morningwasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 369 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much. We had a beautifully appointed room with luxurious bedding, lovely breakfasts and a very warm welcome from our wonderful hostess. She went out of her way to help us plan activities and supply us with all the information we needed.
Very happy we chose to stay here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2009

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again in the future!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed 2 nights with our 2 children at this Inn last week. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing! The staff was very helpful and friendly. They were good with tips about things to do and places to eat. They even accommodated us with an early breakfast so that we could leave for the ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crosses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2009

Thank you for your kind words. It was a treat having you stay with us. Providing breakfast to go is important to us, because we do not want our guests to go hungry when they leave!

Hope to see you again sometime!

Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper/Owner
The Sonata Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My wife and Istayed here for two nights recently....very new, wonderful layout and 'simple touches' (e.g., linens, bed!, room fixtures, etc.) to ensure guests feel welcome. Breakfast was continental, and of good to high quality. "Amy", our host for Day One...was gracious and personable. My only criticism may be the lack of a 'climate controller' or host when Amy was not there....they have a young staff, that appeared shy and preferred to remain in the background....small point though, for any otherwise great venue. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d4andc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2009

Thank you for your review!

As for a climate controller, unfortunately, we do not have a digital system where one can set the temperature of the room. However, climate can be controlled with the thermostat, and for an instant cool down, the Air conditioner can be turned on.

As for the staff. I'm not sure what you mean by "young staff," as Amy and I are the only ones managing the desk, and I am the owner.

We are, however, horribly understaffed, as we did not plan to be this busy this year (as we just opened!) So I can understand if you feel as though the staff presence was minimal. The first night you stayed here, we were fully booked, while the second night, only one room was available. As for the presence....we are always around, as the innkeeper lives upstairs, while I live right next door.

We anxiously await your return one day!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We wer the second people ever to check in and I wondered if they would have their act in gear. That was answered the next morning, when breakfast turned out to be a salmon quiche, along with all the other contintental breakfast type things you'd expect. The rooom was spacious and comfy, the staff was great - they addressed us by name without appearing cheesy, the food was excellent and the location was perfect - a short walk to the main drag, but very residental. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2009

Thank you so much for your positive review of our establishment!

It was so exciting to open our doors to such wonderful "first," guests! Our first day of operation was bliss because of guests like yourself. Thank you so much for being a part of our history.

We anxiously await your return
Mike van der Gaag
Owner/Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in Charlottetown at the Sonata Inn. It is brand new. The bed and bedding was so comfortable we did not want to get up in the morning. It is walking distance to restaurants and Charlottetown attractions, and really close to Victoria Park. We had a spotless, quiet, good size room, with a DVD player (a selection of DVD's as well), and a fridge. We were able to get a wireless connection in our room which we used every day on our laptop to research restaurants, sites, etc. The staff was friendly. It included a delicious hot breakfast every day. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit at breakfast. There was also your choice of toast, bagels, muffins, juices, cereals, yogurt, etc. There is a coffee room for refreshments at any time during the day. We will definitely stay there again on a return trip to PEI.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2009

Thank you so much for your kind words and generous review! Yes, those beds are VERY comfortable!!

It was a pleasure talking to you right before you checked out. Thank you for staying with us, we are anxiously awaiting your return in the future (next time with a new member of the family!!!)

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews