We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than an Inn”
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than an Inn”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stated here for two nights and we just loved everything about it. Very clean, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, great location. Can't ask for more than that.it also had a laundry facilities for 1 dollar and they provide the detergent as well. Very useful. The egg Benedict was the best I've ever had. Thank you for everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    89
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
170
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Prime location to walk around the town and explore. The Sonata is kind of a cross between a B&B and a small hotel. The service staff was very nice, the rooms were well kept and clean. Parking was very convenient. It was great to have a fridge in the room and the "common kitchen" was nice although it did not have an oven. They did allow us to warm our food in the big kitchen downstairs though which was very nice. They also have a library full of movies which was a great touch! Breakfast was great as well!

The only criticism that I would have is that the air conditioning unit was incredibly loud. You could just turn it off but the room becomes very humid very quickly. This may not be an issue in the winter months.

A little pricey but comparable with the rates of other B&B's in the area. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalatableCalamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a great stop we had in Charlottetown. It had a great breakfast, large rooms, small communal kitchenettes, it was great!

Thank you Chef Dale for the fabulous breakfast, crepes with a berry compote stuffed with creme on glaze, a side of fresh fruit and a hot coffee. Yum!

Room Tip: Grab some seafood from the Wharf and bring it back and prepare it at the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here in June. We used this As our base to explore pei with our rental car during the day. It was a great and cozy place to come back to. Breakfast was always great with two hot choices and lots of other stuff. Dale spent a lot of time with us talking about the island and things to do. There is a laundry room in the basement which was super convenient. We would definitely like to return one day!

Room Tip: Room 11 is one of the smaller rooms with a good view facing in the front of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good Size bathroom attached room, nice location as its walking distance and in downtown.
Breakfast was good and all the tourist places are almost equidistant so would definitely recommend for an leisure trip specially in summer as PEI tourism weather is soaring high for this island :) .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This inn is located within easy walking distance of the town- which has many walking trails! It is in a quiet parr of town and parking is very easy. The rooms have nice bedding and the breakfast included a hot specialty dish every morning. There is a nice sitting room and a computer for guests to use - as well as a washer/dryer. We highly recommend this Inn for visitors to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This b and b is more of an inn. The innkeepers were pleasant and informative and welcomed us warmly. The room was more like a large hotel room as this location does not have the antiques and similar decorations most bed and breakfasts have. The room was clean; however, the futon was uncomfortable to sit on. The baked oatmeal was wonderful, but the other meals were nothing special. The location is superb for walking to downtown Charlottetown and the neighborhoods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Property: The Sonata Inn
Address: 3 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing