We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay to explore pei!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to explore pei!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here in June. We used this As our base to explore pei with our rental car during the day. It was a great and cozy place to come back to. Breakfast was always great with two hot choices and lots of other stuff. Dale spent a lot of time with us talking about the island and things to do. There is a laundry room in the basement which was super convenient. We would definitely like to return one day!

Room Tip: Room 11 is one of the smaller rooms with a good view facing in the front of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    80
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
155
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good Size bathroom attached room, nice location as its walking distance and in downtown.
Breakfast was good and all the tourist places are almost equidistant so would definitely recommend for an leisure trip specially in summer as PEI tourism weather is soaring high for this island :) .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This inn is located within easy walking distance of the town- which has many walking trails! It is in a quiet parr of town and parking is very easy. The rooms have nice bedding and the breakfast included a hot specialty dish every morning. There is a nice sitting room and a computer for guests to use - as well as a washer/dryer. We highly recommend this Inn for visitors to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This b and b is more of an inn. The innkeepers were pleasant and informative and welcomed us warmly. The room was more like a large hotel room as this location does not have the antiques and similar decorations most bed and breakfasts have. The room was clean; however, the futon was uncomfortable to sit on. The baked oatmeal was wonderful, but the other meals were nothing special. The location is superb for walking to downtown Charlottetown and the neighborhoods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinzers, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Sonata Inn was nice. Very clean and comfortable. Good service. Great location too. We walked the town every night (all of it!). Please try the pizza place called Peppers.....Great pizza.

The Inn is a busy little place. Not quite a B&B, but close. Our one complaint was the breakfasts. Not like the normal extravagant breakfasts that many B&B's provide.

More like something from a Hamton Inn. It would be great if they offered two hot choices
for guests. We felt a little slighted with the offerings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxplatemaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traveled with another couple and spent three of the 12 nights of our vacation at the Sonata Inn. During the trip, we also spent 2 nights at a major hotel chain and the remainder of the trip at 2 bed-and-breakfasts in other cities. The location of the Sonata Inn was very good, and rooms were very clean. The staff was cheerful and helpful for basic inn-related activities though were not well informed about PEI and Charlottetown activities. Our rooms were in the newer part of the inn and although larger than many, had very little character or charm. The breakfasts were average, a small hot dish plus cold pastries, cereal and fruit, with place settings including plastic placemats and corelle dinnerware. The ice maker in the common refrigerator failed during our stay, and the hosts quickly responded to requests for ice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWTraveler5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay at the Sonata Inn was a wonderfull experience.
Room was spacious and well appointed. Staff were courteous and very helpful.
The included breakfast was very good and lauandry facilities where a bonus.
The Sonata Inn is in an excellent location only minutes walk to restaurants, cafes and theatres.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Property: The Sonata Inn
Address: 3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing