We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like this place!”
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night here and wished we had planned more nights. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was probably the cleanest bathroom I've ever seen. It was nice that our grandson could run around in the yard and we could keep an eye on him. The location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our 5th B&B on our vacation to Nova Scotia and PEI, and our expectation bar was set pretty high. There was a problem at check-in, as my reservation had not been transferred over from the old system. They no record of my reservation, and was told Room 10 (recommended on this site) that we had reserved was not available. Thank goodness I had a copy of my reservation email. The glitch got worked out, and we moved into Room 10. The room itself was fine, but the mattress cover was plastic-y, making crinkling noises when you rolled over, but what was worse is that it wasn’t breathable and therefore very hot (not a good thing when you are a lady of a certain age). The pillows were also very hard and synthetic. Perhaps sacrificing comfort for hypo-allergenic? Room 10 is close to the small guest kitchen, and both mornings someone was in there getting ice at 5:30, so we had an earlier wake up than planned. The breakfasts were OK, continental with a hot dish. On the plus side, the inn has an excellent location, and is very walkable to the downtown sites and restaurants. The minimum charge washer/dryer was very much appreciated. The library/sun room/computer room was a nice addition.
We had the best meal of our trip at Lot 30 – absolutely excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are currently staying at this super B&B in Charlottetown! Our hosts Michael and Dale have gone out of tere way at all times to give us information and suggestions on what to do and where to eat during our 3 night stay. The location is perfect and despite thinking our room was going to be small it is to the contrary, very spacious, ensuite bathroom, great kitchenette for me to have tea every night just down the hall.Large dining room with good quality breakfasts. Even laundry in basement , only loonie a wash, a nice surprise. WE higly recommend this B&B and would definetly return on our next visit.! Thanks

Room Tip: We had room 10 maybe a smaller one but not noticed by us , had everything needed tv, desk, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed two nights over a July weekend in Room 10, one of the Traditional Rooms in the original part of the inn. The moderate-sized room has a bow window area, attractive wood furniture, mantel, a sitting space, Queen bed, and a full bath. It fit our needs nicely. The staff are pleasant and unintrusive. There's a small library area with a desk top computer for guests to use off the second floor landing. After travelling 10 days in this vacation, we were pleased to find a washer and dryer in the basement and at a reasonable cost of $1 each. The Sonata is an easy walk to the waterfront with its shops and restaurants; the underground mall; a nearby historic area on Great George Street with re-enactors and interpreters; Victoria Row at Queen and Richmond, a lively street made into a pedestrian walkway with outdoor dining and live music; and Sydney Street with Sim's restaurant and the Gahan's brewery and pub next door. The Sonata's breakfasts featured fresh berries during our stay.

Room Tip: The Traditional Rooms have more character than the newer addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Sonata Inn is a huge beautiful old home, with lots of rooms. Our room was a good size, with a nice closet, and spacious bathroom. The location was excellent - a short walk to the downtown. The breakfasts were alright, but pretty standard. Though this is understandable given the number of people staying there each night. However, despite the numerous rooms, the house itself seemed pretty quiet, there were no noise issues at night.

An added bonus was that there was coin laundry available, which was great for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_GD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent 10 nights at The Sonata whilst visiting friends and family in PEI. We had previously stayed some years ago at the Heritage Harbour so knew it would be OK, it was more than that as indicated by the grades. Dale & Sherry were excellent hosts, Dales's cooked breakfasts were superb and there was plenty of additional items, cinnamon rolls are a must when I visit PEI and I managed one a day. The support staff were friendly helpful and kept the whole Inn shipshape and clean. Our room was large with a walk in closet, superb queen bed, refrigerator and excellent bathroom. The coffee lounge with free tea & coffee plus the very reasonable, $1, bottles of water and juices meant that you did not have to bother to shop for these essentials. Being so centrally situated yet quiet meant that you could walk easily to the centre of town, Confederation Centre, restaurants, Peakes Quay, Victoria Park and much more.

I would have no hesitation in booking at the Sonata on a future trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sontata Inn for one night on our way through Charlottetown. We definitely would have stayed longer if time permitted. It's not quite your convetional B&B, with it's hotel style rooms but that was okay with us. We were looking for a place to accommodate two adults and a teenager and this fit the bill. The Inn is located in a charming old residential area within walking distance of parks, restaurants and other historic sites. I would go back and recommend this place to friends.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank G0ttaBeKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Address: 3 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $97 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing