We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sontata Inn for one night on our way through Charlottetown. We definitely would have stayed longer if time permitted. It's not quite your convetional B&B, with it's hotel style rooms but that was okay with us. We were looking for a place to accommodate two adults and a teenager and this fit the bill. The Inn is located in a charming old residential area within walking distance of parks, restaurants and other historic sites. I would go back and recommend this place to friends.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank G0ttaBeKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent one night at the Sonata B&B. We chose it because of what we'd read on TripAdvisor and as it was easily booked online last minute and at a reasonable price. The B&B feels more like a large inn as the owners don't live there although all staff we dealt with were very friendly. It's within walking distance of the main street but within a quieter residential section. The room was very well decorated, seemed newly renovated and felt almost like a more upscale hotel room than a B&B. There was a flatscreen tv with cable and mini-fridge. Bathroom was small but everything worked well and we appreciated all the extras in the room. They have a kitchen upstairs for guest use and free coffee/tea as well as other drinks by honour system. There's a small seating area with library and dvd's which we also enjoyed. The breakfast in the morning was filling and delicious with the cook making us a sausage crepe as well as a side of fruit and unlimited breads and pastries. In general we would have come away loving this B&B if not for the fact that we had a disrupted sleep due to poor sound isolation between rooms. I'd read before a comment about thin walls but was reassured by the hotel's response that it was because of older doors and they were being fixed. So, when we came home after dinner to realize we could clearly hear our next door neighbors talking along with their tv we immediately packed stuffing around the door. Only turning on our own tv distracted us from the noise. Later in the evening, I was woken up with our neighbors snoring – and although I can't be sure, it definitely seemed to be emanating through the walls rather than coming through the hallway. As bad as it was, the B&B is an older house that although renovated I don't know what's realistic as they can't exactly rebuild with concrete walls. So a pretty major annoyance for an otherwise really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

this is a great find in a great location - downtown,harbor and large park all within easy walking distance. On a tree lined street with all the old houses make for a quiet stay. Staff is great- well informed and friendly. Large rooms with comfy beds and good breakfasts. Enjoyed the city and our accommodations so much stayed 3 extra nights.

Room Tip: stayed in room 10....recommended by staff when called the Inn directly... they were right .. best ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Located in a residential area just on the edge of downtown Charlottetown, the Sonata Inn is a perfect spot for touring the town, walking along the harbor, admiring the old homes in the neighborhood. Leave the car behind and do some walking...less than 10 minutes to all the main resturaunts. Our room was very nice; the staff was helpful and friendly (like everyone else we met on PEI), and the breakfast was well prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpmc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This B&B is a modern slickly run operation behind the old house facade. Large comfortable rooms and good breakfasts. The house is very convenient for exploring downtown Charlottedown and is in a nice road of similar properties. Off street parking provided.
Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great location with a short walk to the ocean and city centre.

Good looking old style property with original features and character.

The property boasts 11 beautifully decorated rooms. Neutral colours, comfortable queen size beds, lovely ensuite washrooms with bath/shower. TV, DVD & fridge. rooms have zircon too.

There is a sun room, computer, wifi and a piano.

Lounge and dining room are lovely with amazing original features. There is a refreshment area with microwave if needed.

Staff very friendly and professional. They are a real Blessing and nothing is too much for them. Extremely helpful and the breakfasts were awesome. The choice was well varied and sourced locally.

Definitely will stay at the Sonata again. Made my vacation :)

Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzle2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our first trip to PEI so I was a little surprised when driving into Charlottetown that the north side looked a lot like any suburb in the US. However, once you get through all of that mess, the older downtown area of Charlottetown is very pleasant. The Sonata Inn is near the end of a quiet street but only an easy 5-minute walk to lots of shops and restaurants.

The hosts are very friendly, and the breakfast is very good.

My one complaint is that the room we stayed in had the feel of a very clean hotel room, not of a cozy inn. Our room was in what appeared to be the back addition onto the older house. It looked like the rooms in the older house section would have a better "feel" as opposed to the rather sterile room we stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms of the back addition onto the original house. It had the feel of a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rifrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Address: 3 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $98 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing