We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“canadain history starts here”

Province House National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.92*
and up
City Highlights Bus Tour of Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of Confederation and the seat of PEI's provincial legislature since 1847, Province House National Historic Site is Charlottetown's most significant cultural landmark. Walk in the footsteps of the Fathers of Confederation as you learn about the history of this magnificent example of neo-classical architecture and see how it remains a centre of political life for Islanders today.
canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“canadain history starts here”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Canadian history starts with meeting in Charlottetown at this location, See where the fathers of conferation met.
you may even see Sir John A MacDonald or others walking the property or roming about town

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank music-soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    101
    33
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had an excellent guide who gave me a very informative and interesting insight to the early days of Canadian history

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kaanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small but informative”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

There are rooms displayed just how every thing was during the first days of their government. You can look around and with a little imagination you can hear the founding fathers in session.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Made the history come "alive"”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although from the states, I am a history enthusiast. As usual, I did read up on the time period and the site. (Note that I was with a group of 20, and may not have had the usual tour.) That being said, I thought the young lady did an excellent job of conveying the full historical message, and was excited about it and all of the group was enthused, as well as entertained. I could feel the history just standing in the various rooms, even walking the halls and stair cases. We were there about an hour and a half, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Even the lady in the gift shop was very friendly and helpful, not something I normally see. It was well worth my time, and I will visit again some day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I loved the fact that you can visit the site where Canadian Confederation was first discussed. The staff were friendly and well informed; and the visit, although brief, was interesting and insightful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 216_Luigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Province House National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Province House National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing