We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canadian and PEI historical centerpoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Province House National Historic Site of Canada

Province House National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.17*
and up
City Highlights Bus Tour of Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of Confederation and the seat of PEI's provincial legislature since 1847, Province House National Historic Site is Charlottetown's most significant cultural landmark. Walk in the footsteps of the Fathers of Confederation as you learn about the history of this magnificent example of neo-classical architecture and see how it remains a centre of political life for Islanders today.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Canadian and PEI historical centerpoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I felt a sense of awe being in the place where confederation came to be. The building itself is imposing and impressive, but of course its place in our country's history is the real pull.

The reenactment in front was fun to see, and gave a glimpse of the period represented...

Definitely pass by when in Charlottetown!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EKJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    97
    33
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you are in Charlottetown ...go, it's history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just a quick visit helps the visitor appreciate the role this site had in the establishment of our great nation!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KDM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Renovations make it less interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We toured the Province House last week, and it was only worth about 30 minutes of poking around. The history is very interesting - it's the site at which Canadians first demanded a confederate system of government - but, perhaps due to the renovations, there really wasn't much to see. Two open chambers and a library were all that were open when we were there. I asked one of the guides what the major differences in governance were after confederation, and he admitted, "Not much, really." Kind of a bust overall, for what seemed like it would be very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Was hoping for more, we must be out of season”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

While I thought we were there in season (long weekend, end of august), it appears that the province house was the one place to argue that fact. We went and were told to show ourselves around, and that there was not a guided tour, and the movie was not showing that day. This was unfortunate as we are both historic and political buffs, and it was a place we were looking forward to going. I know that they are supposed to have costumed interpretors as well, unfortunately we did not see them. On the plus, we got to look around for free..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Most helpful guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were on a limited budget of time and could not take a tour but the guides posted around the building were very helpful and even our American friend understood the importance of the building to the founding of Canada.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJH1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Province House National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Province House National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing