We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay - but not as good as Claddagh Oyster Bar around the corner.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar

Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar
Ranked #7 of 241 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great steaks, big wine, and PEI hospitality coming together to create the ultimate dining experience.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“okay - but not as good as Claddagh Oyster Bar around the corner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Food was fine and the space was very nice. The $70 chef's creation was a bit disappointing. If took them 2 1/2 hours to serve...which was a bit long. We ordered at 9 pm and it felt like they were more concerned with cleaning the kitchen than preparing our 4 courses. The first two courses were excellent and after that it seemed like they just got bored. The final course was steak, asparagus and mashed potato. Tasty, but not exactly a chef's creation. Claddagh Oyster Bar around the corner where we went the next night was amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooblalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sims C, Manager at Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not living up to your expectations. For our tasting menu we try to spread out each of the four courses over a longer period of time to allow you to make a night of your experience. Being a steakhouse, we do try to feature our steak, as well as seafood in the four course meal.

Again, thank you for the feedback and hopefully you will try us again in the future.

Chef Kyle Panton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    165
    53
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family had a very nice lunch at Sims and they accommodated my 9 month old son well. A high chair was provided. I had the taco sampler - lobster, duck and beef - and they were delicious! Also had the tomato salad which was also very good but a little steep at $10 for about two cut up tomatoes with olive oil, fresh basil and cheese. The rest of the family enjoyed their meals too but beware that the portions are not very big at lunch. Hope they'd be a bit bigger for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sims C, General Manager at Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the tacos, we just added those to our summer menu and love getting feedback from guests.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Craig MacMillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
600 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Good food almost overcomes serious service and management issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to Sims on a very busy, warm Friday night, and without a reservation. That was our mistake. Everything non-food related that happened after that was either service or management related. First, we were told that the wait for an inside table would be at least an hour . Fair enough. The restaurant dining area in front was too warm in any case. Then we were told that outside seating was available on a "first-come, first-served" basis but we were invited to stand outside adjacent to the "al fresco" sections. If a table opened up, we would be entitled to have it without reservation, "but there's another couple that's already waiting for an outside table sitting at the inside bar. We promised to come get them when the first table opens up outside, " said the hostess. Huh??? No reservations or wait list for outside tables? Please feel free to "hover" but "we promised the first open table to another couple that's already waiting? OK we thought. We'll "hover" and claim second open table.

Chapter 2: The hostess tells me not to worry, "we'll make sure you get the next table." We notice a second table has paid its bill and is about to get up when, suddenly, a car pulls up with four persons who happen to be friends with the occupants of the soon-to-depart table. We hear a very inebriated woman at the table say to their friends, "Quick. Go inside and see the hostess, and we'll hold this table for you. You can have it when we get up." As they walk in to the hostess, I politely inform one of the "friends" that we're next in line for that table. The hostess confirms that fact to the newly arrived foursome.

Chapter 3: The hostess walks out to the soon-to-leave table, three of the four occupants have now departed, leaving only the one inebriated lady. She then exclaims, upon being informed by the hostess that they could not simply turn the table over to their friends, "in that case, I'M NOT LEAVING". The filibuster begins. The hostess does nothing. A manager is not called, and to our displeasure and dismay, their friends then proceed (with one of them clearly uncomfortable doing so, but doing nothing about it) to sit down at the table, whereupon the inebriated lady friend of theirs leaves. We are now officially SOL. At that point, we should have just left Sims to find another restaurant but the flustered hostess came out again to console us and say, "hold one moment, I think there's another outside table I can sit you at." Voila! Within another 3 minutes, we're seated, but still fuming. But, there's no apology for what just transpired. No manager stops by to apologize. AND suddenly a new problem....no server at the new table.

Chapter 4: At least 10 minutes goes by without any service when suddenly a staff person appears and delivers water to the table. Being quite hungry by then, we immediately ordered a Wedge Salad and 1/2 liter of white wine. The wine was delivered within about 5 minutes, and we proceeded to order the main courses. But it took nearly 20 more minutes to receive the salad. We thought the server had forgotten. Instead, we determined that, despite it being late, the kitchen was slammed. The main courses, a Sims Burger and BBQ chicken, also were very, very slow to arrive.

Final Chapter: Despite all of the above, the food delivered was all delicious, well prepared and served hot. Now we knew for sure the slow service was mostly a kitchen issue. Too bad. We'd love to recommend this restaurant to others just based upon the quality and taste of the food. But alas, most of this "book" was bad news and thus, at the very best, given the service and meal cost, we can only judge this to be among the very few poor experiences we had dining in Charlottetown.

One can only hope that the management can get its act together in running this place. Service, from start to finish, is a big issue here, and the policy regarding outside table seating is just ludicrous.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mshbnyehud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sims C, General Manager at Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

We're disappointed to hear about your experience and apologize for the circumstances that unfolded. We want to thank you for your comments as we are always trying to improve upon our business. We can assure you that this isn't a common occurrence here at Sim's none the less we take your comments seriously and look to avoid this in the future.

We also appreciate your kind words on our food quality and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Thanks again,

Craig MacMillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A must see when dining in Charlottetown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited sims for the first time two weeks ago while in Charlottetown! Food was amazing and fresh, started off with seafood bruschetta, then had the 10 ounce tenderloin which was cooked to perfection. Very interesting about sims custom cut steaks( ask when you visit) the overall service
And atmosphere was very pleasant.

Would recommend to any diners looking for a good meal and experience in Charlottetown

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse-Scott24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sims C, General Manager at Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the kind review. We are very proud of our steak program and truly believe PEI has the best beef in the world. Glad you enjoyed the Sims experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Craig MacMillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Easily the best Prime Rib I've ever had, and my wife's New York Strip was also the best she'd ever had. Our waiter knew everything we asked, recommended sides we might like, made an excellent wine selection, and was personable and professional all at the same time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Sims Corner Steakhouse & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing