We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chips!”

Brits Fish and Chips
Ranked #45 of 251 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $5 - $36
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We ordered fish and chips take out and it was excellent! The service was friendly. We went there during dinner time and had to wait longer for our order as it was fairly busy there. Nice place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlicVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    73
    28
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Best ever!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Such delicious fish 'n chips with great sides. Huge pieces of very fresh fish. We absolutely loved it. Full bar, too. Very friendly owner and waitress... great service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinte West
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old English Fish and Chip House”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The traditional Fish and Chips were done to perfection. The quantity was excellent and the batter was light and tasty. Just the way Fish and Chips should be done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomjc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuujjuaq, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“A Middle Of The Pack Option For Fish And Chips”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I hadn't visited Brits Fish And Chips for a number of years and finally decided to go back over the past weekend. I was in the mood for fish and chips and decided to try a place I haven't been to in a while. While I enjoyed my meal, I wasn't overly impressed. The prices are reasonable at $11 for a one piece and fries. For that you get a nice big piece of fresh high quality fish and a good amount of home cut fries. There was no coleslaw included however and the tartar sauce was bland(came in a ketchup bottle). I found the service friendly but also a bit slow, therefore kind of a mixed bag. Overall I would say this is a decent spot to get fish and chips, but it is your basic middle of the pack type of option in Charlottetown. The Churchill Arms, my regular spot, is still a far better option in my opinion. I would probably return to Brits, but it won't be for a while considering the other good options available. Definitely not as good as I remember it being in past visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslanderOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mediocre service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped going to Brits in 2012.

You walk in, and no one seems to know you're there; you don't know whether to seat yourself, or wait....and wait....and wait.

This has happened twice, which is enough.

Very uncomfortable - you figure they don't want your business.

Previous times, food was above average, but now, I can't seem to find out, because no one seems to care.

Oh well.....there are better fish and chips to be had in Charlottetown, at Cedars Eatery, for example...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brits Fish and Chips also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Brits Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing