We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing oysters”

Claddagh Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 251 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Queen Street
Description: THE ISLANDS ONLY YEAR-ROUND OYSTER BAR WITH FRESH LOBSTER TANK.Featuring more than just the best available oysters from PEI, the Claddagh Oyster House is a warm, contemporary dining room located within an historic building in downtown Charlottetown.A Constantly changing menu that features the freshest seafood, premium Island beef, chicken, pasta and more - combined with our extensive wine selections are sure to please.THE CLADDAGH OYSTER HOUSE - MORE THAN JUST GREAT OYSTERS!!
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing oysters”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

All of the food at this restaurant was amazing from our appetizers to dessert.

Our waiter Bret went out of his way to ask the chef could make something for me without pork.

All of the oysters are shucked in the bar area so you know it's fresh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madbaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    159
    32
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good value for your money”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Seafood preparations were not as tasty as advertised. The service was also slow. The place is small and finding a parking close by can be a challenge. The prices are also on the higher side.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTOSH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coaster
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Definitely deserves the certificate of excellence”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We chose the Claddagh Oyster House based on the Tripadvisor rating, and were very happy we did. On the small side, but very atmospheric, with excellent service. We ordered 25 oysters of mixed type to begin; our server was knowledgeable about the types we were eating and where they came from. Frankly, after a dozen oysters a piece, we were too full for a complete entree, so instead we opted for the special appetizer (portobello wellington) and another appetizer. Coupled with the pints we enjoyed, and the wonderful rhubarb dessert, it was quite enough for two. Enjoyed the walk to and from our hotel and the pleasant summer evening. Quite a nice time - certainly recommend to any oyster fan.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fresh and simply prepared”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

In a time when so many chefs try to create masterpieces with too many ingredients, it was nice to just enjoy the taste of the food.

Oysters: a Dozen presented with a small card noting where on PEI each came from. Fresh. Perfect. Mussels in tomato broth with fennel and a spicey sausage: Excellent.

Great little biscuits to go with

Ok wine list in a town that does not appreciate wine.


Small somewhat dark restaurant. Sleek modern feel. Would have liked more light but it's an old building.

Helpful?
1 Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You will come back again!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was in Charlottetown for less than a week and I had dinner here twice. The seafood was outstanding. I had oysters, scallops and others in my party raved about the chowder...I mean raved. The atmosphere is warm and the service was friendly. They have a very nice wine list with lots of selections that match very well with the seafood. Our table was not ready when we arrived so we popped upstairs for a pre-dinner drink at the Old Dublin Pub. Totally different atmosphere but absolutely fun and welcoming. I will be sure to go again next time I am in town. Make a reservation - it isn't that big.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Oyster House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Claddagh Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing