We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 for 1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claddagh Oyster House

Claddagh Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 241 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Queen Street
Description: THE ISLANDS ONLY YEAR-ROUND OYSTER BAR WITH FRESH LOBSTER TANK.Featuring more than just the best available oysters from PEI, the Claddagh Oyster House is a warm, contemporary dining room located within an historic building in downtown Charlottetown.A Constantly changing menu that features the freshest seafood, premium Island beef, chicken, pasta and more - combined with our extensive wine selections are sure to please.THE CLADDAGH OYSTER HOUSE - MORE THAN JUST GREAT OYSTERS!!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“2 for 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pretty high end for PEI, but for big city types, the prices are fair. We had no reservation, and they had reserved the bar spots, so they sent us upstairs to the Irish pub for a pint. A few minutes later, and a well poured Guiness, and we were seated. Excellent oysters to start and we shared a generous fish stew - with 2 lobster claws. Tasty. Great service by Cathy, a local. Small-ish, but very good menu. I recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    140
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fantastic. Coming from a chef, this was the best food I had on the whole island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

There's not one bad thing I can say about my entire experience here, except the location is easy to miss. I suggest sitting at the bar. There you can see firsthand their commitment to quality control. With raw anything there is always a chance of getting sick, but I would trust this place the most out of all the restaurants we visited. Atmosphere was great and staff was easy to joke around with, they seemed like they actually liked what they did. And as a bonus, cleanest washrooms I encountered all trip too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tymorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olde D, Manager at Claddagh Oyster House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments about the Claddagh Oyster House.
We are glad that you enjoyed yourself while on the Island as well
as our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“"Galway Bay"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow! You don't need to travel too far or leave the Island for good food! It's here at the Claddagh Oyster Bar! A treat to get out with friends and enjoy an exceptional dish of shrimps & scallops sautéed to perfection, plated with kale, baby beets, beans, new PEI potatoes!
Not too much and not too little....just right! Presentation, atmosphere, service also excellent....a PEI must.....easy to see why they have kept this on the menu for over 25 yrs! Just a 5 minute walk from the Aloha!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2015AlohaTouristHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, & location but food needs improving.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a couple of beers from their tap. The beer was typical Irish served beer. Slightly cooler than room temperature. Not ice cold like we like it. We ordered a Shepards Pie. It was excellent & really hot. We also ordered the lobster stuffed mushroom caps. They were piping hot. Microwaved! The lobster was tough & over cooked & the cheese was microwaved to the point of separating. The staff was friendly but not overly personable. We wouldn't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jettboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olde D, Manager at Claddagh Oyster House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments about the Olde Dublin Pub (in the same building as the Claddagh Oyster House, but a different entity onto itself).
We have talked to both the kitchen staff and restaurant staff and posted your comments
for them all to see.
Just to clarify - we do not use a microwave for cheese sauce whatsoever, but if it is put in
the oven for too long the cheese can seperate - for that we apologize.
If you have any other comments do not hesitate to contact us directly at the pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

ambiance and service are excellent. Food is good, not great. I had the lobster which was overcooked. my wife has the "surf and turf", the maple syrup soaked porkchop was a bit too fatty.
However the overall experience is very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fmcsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Oyster House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Claddagh Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing