We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch before Book Club” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leaf Neighbourhood Grill

The Leaf Neighbourhood Grill
Ranked #49 of 768 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belle River
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lunch before Book Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friend and I decided to go to the Maple Leaf before going to Book Club. We were pleasantly surprised by the very nice renovations. I had the Honey Garlic Boneless Wings and they were excellent. My friend had the Perogies with fried onions and they were also very good. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive. The washrooms were very clean. We will put the Maple Leaf on our monthly rotation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fallcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stopped here on our brief visit to Windsor from Detroit. The decor was very streamlined and chic. The food was typical diner/comfort food. My husband had boneless wings with BBQ sauce and liked them. I had the thinly sliced prime rib sandwich with gravy, fries and fresh green beans. The food tasted excellent and very fresh. Our server was very nice and personable. We really enjoyed this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wigx2154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“If it looks like a diner, smells like a diner...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an upscale diner with some different decor.

Liver and onions, Ruben sandwiches, hot chicken sandwiches it's a diner.

The food is diner wholesome. Waitresses look like your mom and call you dear.

Desserts are homemade pies a la mode if you want and you can have rice pudding or wait for it Jello.

The food is good!

Service is competent - like your mom with lots of humour and smiles.

Great comfort food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Maple Leaf hosted a wonderful First Communion Dinner today. Great new modern atmosphere, terrific staff, food that tastes as good as it looks. The perfectly cooked fire roasted chicken was to die for. A beautiful platter of assorted vegetables cooked and seasoned to perfection, only left you wanting more. I will definitely go back and try new items on the menu, plus let friends and family know about this Windsor treasure to be tried.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baseballmom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leaf Manager M, General Manager at The Leaf Neighbourhood Grill, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Glad we tried someplace new!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Windsor for a Gymnastics Competition, we usually pick a known brand restaurant. This was the first time we have ever picked a place to eat at solely based on tripadvisor reviews....and we were glad we did. The service was good, they handled us with a bit of a wait because we arrived at a sudden burst of people coming in. We are 2 adults and 4 children. The decor is pretty neat...wished I could have checked out the ship models and pictures on the walls a bit better. The food is what sets this place above expectations....it was superb!!!! Everything we ordered came correctly and all was eaten up, got to love the home style meals. Even with adding 3 good sized sundaes, the bill was only $90 including tax. Next time we are in Windsor we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonynsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leaf Manager M, General Manager at The Leaf Neighbourhood Grill, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon! Glad you enjoyed the food and the awesome sundaes.. yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leaf Neighbourhood Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Leaf Neighbourhood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing