We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta try the fish there!”
Review of El Mayor

El Mayor
Ranked #94 of 773 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Riverside
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gotta try the fish there!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Last time, I tried the fish, its fresh and very delicious. Arabic style food mainly. The restaurant is filled with paintings and art, its very pleasing to look at.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Armin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“First time. Ordered takeout.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Food was pretty good. Hummus ok. Ordered takeout. Prices reasonable. Would order again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CNDTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Lebanese cuisine”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lots of Good choices. Make specialty dishes when asked. Sometimes our favourites aren't on the menu but usually they offer alternatives which are fresh and good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank darbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good staff.. great food!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

El Mayor is one of my favorite Windsor restaurants
A mix of large booth and tables, the dining area is clean with a huge party room on one side, washrooms are spacious and clean, ample parking at the rear of the restaurant access through an alley.

Lunch or dinner there's enough on their menu to suit your taste. I enjoy their kebab dinner and fish platter. Hummus, tabbouleh, pita - are fresh and tasty. Their prices aren't the cheapest, but reasonable and after tasting the food you 'll know it's money well spent.
Last time I was there our food took longer than usual, but our server chatted with us for a while and passed the time and after our meal she was kind enough to pour a complimentary cup of coffee/espresso to diners.
Dine-in or takeout portions are plentiful, you'll leave with something to take home;
their busy staff always great you with smiles.
El Mayor - hard to disappoint.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theoryguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

El Mayor is a little more reasonable than a couple of the other restaurants that serve the same kind of food. Nothing stands out really as exceptional, but I liked the turkish coffee after dinner.

Helpful?
Thank shilee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mayor also viewed

 
Windsor, Ontario
Windsor, Ontario
 
Windsor, Ontario
Windsor, Ontario
 

Been to El Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing