We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One in Windsor's hidden gems.”
Review of Taloola Cafe

Taloola Cafe
Ranked #27 of 773 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Windsor Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One in Windsor's hidden gems.”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Just right. Great place with wonderful atmosphere, excellent coffee and tea and good food. Great for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaner790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“wonderful eclectic cafe”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stopped here for a break on Sunday afternoon with my partner. The coffee and hot chocolate were excellent. The tea selection is awesome, with two chai tea options. Many of the food selections are gluten free. We look forward to returning soon on a Friday or Saturday evening to enjoy the entertainment. Get your butts over there and enjoy this bohemian experience!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Wish I had found it sooner”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I "discovered" the Taloola last week, wishing I had tried it much sooner. The Taloola is a vegetarian and vegan café, but they don't really advertise that fact.

You are greeted by well-polished wood floors and natural brick walls. A small order desk at the back of the entrance room backs in turn onto the kitchen. A refrigerated case offers a large selection of tempting desserts, most made to be as healthy as possible. You order your meal at the desk, get a cup from a shelf to the side, and take your individual tea pot or coffee filter to the table. The friendly staff brings your meal when it is ready.

The dining room off to the side features the same wooden floors and natural brick. One wall is consumed by a giant framed and spotlighted National Geographic map of the world. In the back corner is a cozy seating area with antique velvet-covered high-backed couches. In the front corner is a table with boxed games and books. Some of the chairs are wicker. I had the feeling if my grandmother had been a hippy and had decided to open a café, it might have looked something like the Taloola. It's a very comfortable place to be. Most of the customers appeared to be regulars.

Out front is a nicely shaded patio and fenced patio with four tables. It is clearly marked non smoking.

As a vegetarian I was overwhelmed by the food choices available to me. I settled for a small bowl of lentil and sweet potato stew, thick and warmly spiced. I also had an antipasto party, a sandwich on rye, cooked up in a panini press. It was stuffed full with eggplant, artichokes, asiago cheese, and a nice spread of some sort. It was tasty and filling.

I had Earl Grey tea and a rich and flavourful chocolate banana pie for dessert.

I look forward to another visit at this lovely café my next trip to Windsor.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Coffee shop with great week-end shows!”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Taloola is a great coffee shop in Windsor the food is very good and they have great free/pay what you can shows on the week-ends.Highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parrothead12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in Windsor.”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The sandwiches and salads are amazing. The coffee might be my favourite in the city. The Roberto Panini and the Kool Bossa Nova sandwiches are HUGE wins for me.

The chocolate chip cookies are untouchable. BEST. And the lavender shortbread?!?! Phenomenal.

Great place owned by amazing people, staffed by thoughtful and polite service-folk.

Always happy with my visits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phogtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taloola Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taloola Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing