We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's about the food!”
Review of shin shin's

shin shin's
Ranked #292 of 773 Restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: University
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“It's about the food!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stopped in for lunch while on business in downtown Windsor at a colleague's suggestion. Fast service and very affordable. Not a place to stay and linger over fine food. But good quality and tasty. Had a lunch special of soup and squid in spicy sauce. Under ten dollars! Place was hopping.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JBLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Staff, not Food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went to this restaurant while on business in Windsor mainly because of the reviews on this website. Although the staff were really friendly and attentive the food was not really that good. I ordered the dinner combo which comes with a variety of options and so I chose the Hot and Sour Soup which I did not like at all, it was very thick and pasty and it looked more like jelly than soup. I also got the crispy beef that everyone recommended and I did not like it either, the chunks were big and chewy (rather than crispy) and it tasted as if they poured a gallon of molasses on top. The fried rice with egg was very bland and was not even close to what you can get at a standard Chinese place at a mall. The one thing that was delicious was the spring roll, it was big, crispy and had a lot of flavour. In conclusion: I've had wayyyyyy better Chinese food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Santiagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You can't find better Chinese food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Family run business for many years, recently changed hands. The cook they've always had is now the owner (not the same family). The food is excellent and consistent. They are very accommodating - and without hesitation - to dietary needs and preferences.

Their menu is large and well varied. I have never found anywhere that comes close to the hot and sour soup they serve here.

This place continues to be an all-time family favourite and meeting place.

Restaurant is open almost all days of the year (I think Christmas day is the only day they are closed). The place does a steady business. The space is not fancy and typical of most Chinese food restaurants. They have 2 large round tables at the back with lazy-Susans to serve up to 8 people which is really handy for family/friend get-togethers.

Love this place and you will too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“below average chinese food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a dinner with the combo plate, Soup was average, the spring rolls were great tasting but very oily to the point of dripping grease everywhere. The entree was average with rice and veggies and poor quality meat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything is delicious”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our favorite Chinese restaurant in Windsor, try the fried green beans with beef. Very authentic and not too expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed shin shin's also viewed

 
Windsor, Ontario
 

Been to shin shin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing