We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place. Worst ever”
Review of The Velvet Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Velvet Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian, American
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
568 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Horrible place. Worst ever”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There was nothing to like about this garbage establishment. Horrible attitude from owner who is the cook. Does not cater to customer needs so I guess thats why there are never any customers in there. While dining all I could hear were employees complaining about pay checks bouncing every week. She needs to shut her doors and find another job to make everybody happy. DO NOT EAT HERE. GARBAGE

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots of food and the fastest service.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love going here with our daughter. There are high chairs an coloring books, newspapers, magazines. But who has time to read? Your food comes to the table within minutes; if you have to wait longer than five minutes someone is usually apologizing for the delay.

When the plate comes there's so much food. I can't believe how much bacon you get with a two egg breakfast. I've heard people complain about the price but you get more food than any other breakfast place I've been to.

Downside: no change table, no menu substitutions, service quality depends on who is working, sometimes food is too greasy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ont.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great value, great service and most importantly great food. Some might say it is a "greasy spoon", but it is a local landmark and great comfort breakfasts!

Helpful?
2 Thank JDCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not return!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Would not recommend. Twice as expensive as Marija's down the street. I ordered side of ham and side of white toast. One skinny piece of ham which had an aftertaste like they sprayed something on the grill before cooking it. Left an aftertaste in my mouth for a few hours. And the prices are way too high. Also, always looking for waitstaff a few times a year which makes me think they are hard to work for. They are always sitting around the counter or at a table which I do not like to see either. Especially when its the cook sitting there. Do they wash their hands before they start cooking again after sitting and talking with their head in their hands? I would not recommend at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The lady enjoys kicking people out if they talk bad about her restaurant... terrible. Marija's Place is down the street... much better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Velvet Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing