We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Quality and Great Variety” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezzo Ristorante & Lounge

Mezzo Ristorante & Lounge
Ranked #4 of 755 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality and Great Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been coming to Mezzo for years and have always been impressed. On my last visit I had the gluten free salad with tiger shrimp, candied sweet potato, and avocado. I did not expect too much from a salad but honestly the flavour combinations were unbelievable and so complementary. It was such a treat, bite after bite. It may be a bit pricey, but not for Erie Street fare. Absolutely worth a visit with incredible staff and talented chefs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 052706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    46
    22
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute but mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice place, somewhat too hyped for the food quality...I had lobster penne- $34-..one lonely lobster tail decorating the entire dish..otherwise, too much aromatic oils/cheese/butter cream base...quite heavy.
My friend had some lovely beef but again, quite expensive for the size.
The desert was weak, Chocolate Explosion- some chocolate but definitely no explosion. It was dry, crumbly and tasted like it was made the other day- hard to call that an Italian delicacy.
The wine was great and the service impeccable:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DariolaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trendy Place to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I havent been to Mezzo in years.... probably since it opened.

This place is a nice atmosphere, lots of fun, and comfortable. Very trendy.

The menu has a nice selection however pricey given the area and what is available in comparison.

Our Waitress was really kind, and patient however, ignored obvious complaints that she must have overheard. I would recommend that the service staff should pay attention to whether their guests are enjoying their mean or not. Because last night, we did not. The entrees were just not made right, and for $40 a plate I would expect perfection, it was far from that.

Drinks are also a bit pricey so the bill adds up pretty quickly after some wine entrees and dessert approx. $300

I dont think this is typical of Mezzo, however for a fine dining restaurant like this, this experience should have not been ignored or missed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Eat your city promo - great opportunity to sample other dishes at a great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This week, the restaurant has a special menu offering that had a select menu items (smaller portion) at a reduce price. This is an opportunity to sample other entree that you would not typically offer. The menu is a 3 course menu with a nice appetizer, an entree and a desert. One thing for sure, you probably won't go hor hungry. The price for the dinner is either $35 or $25 depending on your selection. The service is consistent, quality of the food is the same as the regular dinner menu. Only difference is that it is a smaller portion.

We had the calamari and the stuffed portobella mushroom apps. The calamari is delic, the portabella taste great, but not very appealing to the eye. The manicotti and veal were great bit should have order the salmon. For desert, the cheesecake and tiramisu looks fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great upscale place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice restaurant on Erie St in Windsor. Met the owner - Peter. Bartender Jeff - was great... nice from the strip restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadybuggyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzo Ristorante & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Mezzo Ristorante & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing