We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Meal in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nico Ristorante

Nico Ristorante
Ranked #7 of 739 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Amazing atmosphere ! Service is top of the line just ask for Giovanni !! The chefs are world class and i promise your meal will be made and served to perfection!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristoforo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    25
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great family run local Italian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

High quality, delicious Italian fare near the main hotels. Friendly, welcoming atmosphere with great selections of pasta, meat and seafood dishes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my third trip in as many months to Nicos.the food and service continue to be Absolutely Amazing.My wife and I intend to try everything on the menu--it's Really that Good.

One word of caution, the dinning room is usually a buzz of very friendly chatter comparing the many appetizers,and entrees.

Great food,great service,and a friendly group of appreciative patrons.

If that isn't Nice? What is?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The atmosphere was fabulous; small, quaint and well appointed. The service was great. And, the food was out of this world! I had a We started with grilled calamari that was perfectly cooked and delicious. I had a Veal dish and my husband had a seafood pasta as our main course and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Then topped it off with Tiramisu that was out of this world. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bizcoachdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Italian home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I live 850 km away from Windsor, but I never miss a chance to eat at Nico's when I'm in town (which is more often than you'd expect). In fact, I make a point of putting Windsor on my itinerary so that I can enjoy what is quite literally my favourite Italian restaurant anywhere. The experience starts when I call to book a table and they sound like they're genuinely looking forward to seeing me. And the table is always, "the best table in the house," which actually describes all the tables. The restaurant is smallish and cozy without being stuffy, and there's a terrific buzz of diners enjoying every bite.
I've never had a dish that wasn't wonderful, so it's hard to work out where to focus with the menu. My must-have item is definitely the grilled calamari, which melt in your mouth. The prawns in the Caesar salad are a yummy touch, and for sharing, the antipasto platter is a winner. Moving on to the pasta course is dangerous, since the portions are substantial on top of being uber-delicious. My husband's favourite is the bucatini a l-amatrciana, but I can't decide between the ciopinno and the gnocchi (they'll do a bit of each gnocchi sauce if you'd like). Unfortunately, you really you should leave room for one of the secundi (mains -- like the lamb duo), or at least the tiramisu. Fortunately, they'll pack up leftovers, so you could take home enough for lunch the next day.
The combination of atmosphere, amazing staff & Nico's genius in the kitchen, makes me want to eat there over and over again. In fact, I think it's time for another trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Nico Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing