We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST NOT THE SAME”

The Bourbon Tap & Grill
Ranked #116 of 780 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“JUST NOT THE SAME”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Well I must say that the new Per Bacco is definately not the same. They have taken away the intimate setting, added booths, a pizza oven and a huge bar. We might as well have gone to a loud bar with chicken wings for a nice get together dinner with friends. When I mentioned that my steak was over cooked the server said sorry to hear that and didnt even offer to fix the problem. The wifes chicken was served raw in the middle and she was grossed out. I was embarassed as I told our out of town friends how great it was there, and we were suprised with the new renovations of the place. The manager was just standing at the bar talking to his friends in a loud manner, using less than appropriate language for any fine dining establishment. Needless to say we didnt order desert or another bottle of wine. We were shocked to see full price on the bill for food we sent back because it was sub-par. When I asked to see the chef I was told he was no longer with the company and that he had moved on. I guess it means that we move on also to another establishment worth my hard earned money. It really is too bad becasue they did have a good thing going

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knights2remember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeshore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not too bad, but better Italian ones on Eire St., Windsor”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Went for a birthday with the family. Waiter and bus people were a little "too" attentive. Food was OK, could have done a better job with the veggies especially for the price. Manager was walking around, but was not very friendly, did not even smile. Then he decided to socialize with some people at the table behind us, was sort of loud and annoying. Nicely decorated but doesn't make up for the mediore food. Much better places on Erie St. if you're looking for Italian food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I took my girlfriend here and was absolutely amazed by the food. I would highly recommend eating here. Everything was great.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeshore, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food and service are AMAZING!”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is a great place to take your significant other for a special occasion or just a Friday night date! The food is delicious and the service is superb!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happymommy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Upon entering Per Bacco Ristorante, my...”
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Upon entering Per Bacco Ristorante, my girlfriend and I were greeted by a friendly well mannered waiter who offered to take our jackets. We were then seated at our table that was surrounded by beautiful murals on the walls. The atmosphere in Per Bacco is stunning. We started with an order of calamari. I have to say that it is the best calamari I have ever had. It was Tender and very light. My girlfriend ordered the stuffed chicken breast for her entree and I ordered the Bone In Tenderloin. The chicken was absolutely wanderful. Stuffed with fontina cheese, prosciuttio and basil. Very juicy and served with roasted potatoes and veg. Now let me tell you about this steak. Absolutely the most tender and perfectly cooked steak I have ever gotten at any restaurant anywhere. It is the only time I've ever been offered a bone in tenderloin this side of Toronto. Served with roasted potatoes, chefs choice of seasonal veg. Carrots, asparagus, roasted beets and green beans. Everything was arranged on the plate like something you'd see in art culinaire. Our waiter offered us the perfect glass of wine with every course we had. A good chardonnay with our calamari and salads. Pinot noir with the chicken and shiraz with my bone in tenderloin, everything was perfect. The deserts ended the meal perfectly. They were light and made fresh everyday. From the moment we sat down at our table in this romantic atmosphere, we felt like we were the only 2 people in the place. The service was impecable. Per Bacco ristorante is in itself an aphrodisiac to all the senses. I promise you this. It's my new favorite place to spend date night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank knights2remember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bourbon Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Bourbon Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing