We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why pay more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonecroft Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonecroft Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why pay more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

To be honest, the reviews are fair. This really is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are dated - perhaps we could say "retro"?

On the other hand, they're quite clean and the bed is firm. Service is outstanding - especially Sue at the front desk who let me look in a couple of rooms before I decided to stay.

It doesn't look like much from the road, but I would have no hesitation staying here on future trips to Windsor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    90
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
102
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been traveling to Windsor since 2005 and have stayed at numerous different hotels until I found out about the Stonecroft Inn. The staff is great! The rooms are great! They are almost done with renovations as well. The new rooms have a sleek modern look. Definitely will continue staying at the Stonecroft Inn when in WIndsor.

The restaurant "Gilligans" is also an excellent spot for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markous_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

While in Windsor, I have stayed in Stonecroft, Holiday Inn on Huron Church, Ivy Rose, Hilton and perhaps one or two other places as well. Stonecroft is by far the best place to stay in the area. It is clean, spacious, a good central location with a very friendly,welcoming and helpful staff.
I was there on business and took the family along as I felt it safe and clean enough.
It is not only the best place to stay, it is also the best value. The views are not as pleasant as the Hilton, but it is cheaper by over 1/2 the price. There are enough diversions close by if you need to keep your family occupied during the day- all within walking distance.
Not as easily found as some of the other places downtown or on Huron Church but well worth the effort. Free parking and wi-fi. One room had a jacuzzi, one had a small kitchen. All the rooms were capacious.
For me, I am looking for a clean place every time. This is the cleanest in Windsor. The rest is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ColindeBain241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a nice large room with table and chairs, separate couch and nice flat screen TV. Free WiFi was available in the room. The room was clean and quite. I looks like they are renovating some of the other rooms. Continental breakfast was the basic bagels, toast, fruits and coffee. Staff was pleasant. I would stay stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a large room with a large, comfortable bed, sofa, large flat screen tv and a kitchenette. It had a small fridge, microwave and a table with chairs. The bathroom was fine, very clean. We enjoyed the free wifi and basic continental breakfast - coffee, tea, juice, toast, cereal.. We had requested a quiet room with extra pillows and they delivered. This hotel is a great value just a short drive from the casino area. There is a restaurant attached although we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for hockey tournament, Very friendly staff, that I found went the extra mile to make sure our stay was comfortable. Room are clean did hear people above us roaming around during the nite the 1st nite. Gave the team an extra room to keep hockey equipment and even a small meeting room to hold our own dinner. This place is being updated and I would stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and large. The bed was comfortable and the was no noise from adjoining rooms, so we has a good sleep. It is not fancy, but for the price it was good value. We paid just over 80 dolars with CAA/AAA discount.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#9 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Inn

Property: Stonecroft Inn
Address: 3032 Dougall Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N9E 1S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonecroft Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stonecroft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Inn Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing