We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for our purposes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor

Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good for our purposes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked a block of rooms while in town for our son's wedding and were very pleased. All the relatives could visit one another over breakfast and in their suites. Each suite had 2 separate bedrooms which was so nice for sharing with other couples and young children (rather than 2 doubles in the same room like most places). The continental breakfast included fruit and the food was plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inverlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

There are definitely some positives to this place. Great rate for what is really a two bedroom suite. Clean. Includes continental breakfast.

There are however too many negatives for me.
Very poor sound insulation - we were kept up, sometimes by people just using the stairs and not being particularly loud about it.
The nature of the place means they get groups - a large sports group of unruly children and their parents were there when we were. They ran up and down the halls screaming - their parents smoked in the non-smoking lounge. Management did ask them to be quiet, but after several complaints I believe guests should be told to be quiet or shown the door. They were just asked to be quiet repeatedly.
The internet would not work with our computer - several calls to the front desk didn't help since the person who might know how to help was never apparently available.
Voicemail code had to be reset several times and 46 old messages on one phone and 47 on the other (in the other bedroom, separate lines) had to be erased by us so we could receive messages. This took us quite awhile.
The room was stifling hot. The heat was off and the air conditioning must not have been turned on because it didn't work. Windows opened, but even though it was cool outside it remained incredibly hot and stuffy in the room.
At check in staff didn't inform me of anything - I had to ask when and where breakfast was.
Breakfast area is small and crowded. They ran out of things both mornings - bagels, milk.

Overall this place has tons of potential, but I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

My friend and I are two middleaged female tourists. We planned to be in Windsor for only a day and figured, "Why not? We don't travel to look at hotel rooms." The St. Clair was cheap, convenient, and a perfectly acceptable place to stay. We liked it.

Yes, it felt like a dorm, and yes, the towels and pillows were not super-fluffy. On the plus site, there was a kitchen with fridge and microwave, two bedrooms (both with TVs), and free (wired) internet with plenty of connections.

We had a car so we didn't need to walk to the sights and frankly it was nice not to discover that we'd booked a hotel in a seedy section of town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBeeHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

we stayed here for superbowl XL, and will stay for game 7 nhl playoffs if it happens. It was clean and cheap with all basic amenities in good working order...with parking included. The students were very social and pleasant, even shared a few drinks with them.
If you choose a budget minded location in Windsor and you don't mind the 5km drive to downtown, this place must be considered a great option.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longroadtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

We booked 2 nights through hotwire and tried to cancel once we found out it was a college dormitory. Hotwire wouldn't allow it, because they said it qualified as a hotel. Let no one be fooled - this is a college dormitory, replete with a lobby decorated with paper streamers and noisy, partying students at 1 a.m. Once you pass through the double doors into the residence-proper, you walk into a smelly, heavily stained carpeted hallway.

The dorm room kitchens have a fridge, microwave and table with 2 straight-backed wooden chairs. There are no utensils, plates, cutlery, and no coffeemaker. You get 2 drinking glasses in the kitchen and 2 plastic cups for the bathroom. Each bedroom has a double bed that has seen better days and a small tv. The closet is just an open space with a rod and a few plastic hangers.

We called about the noise outside that prevented us from going to sleep, but nothing was done. We used their common computer that very night and booked a real hotel for the next night. I've never been so glad to leave a place. We're going to recommend that hotwire consider it a hostel, not a hotel. We'll also be writing a letter to the college about their deceptive advertising, where they make it seem that it's a great place for travelers looking for a hotel at a cheap price.

I recommend this place to no one, except students enrolled at the college who wish to live in a typical on-campus dormitory.

  • Liked — Free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Spartan atmosphere, noise from partying students, hallways heavily soiled and smelly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dan23Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here while we were waiting to move into a condo, after our houses had been sold. We stayed for a week in March, went away for two weeks, came back here for two weeks late in March, and then spent a few days in April before our condo was ready.
The suites are great, with two bedrooms, a fridge and microwave, and full cooking facilities available on the ground floor in a common area. They also have a free breakfast included in the price.
We had no noise problems, the students were all behaving themselves, even on 'pub' nights. We did have a problem with the door lock but the management was right on it and fixed the problem as quickly as they could.
I will say this, though; they are not looking at any of the students misbehaving in the showers, the showers are so small only one person can bearly fit in and still have room to move and wash.
Other small picks; there is no CNN channel on the tv's and there is no supplied tv guide to tell you what channels can be seem.
Although it was winter we had the heat turned completely off in the unit and it was still in the mid-seventies all the time.
For a short term stay this has got to be the best bargain in town, and for a family it would be even better.

  • Liked — excellent price for short term stay
  • Disliked — no CNN on the tv
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WindsorTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

I went for my birthday and needed a cheap place to stay! It was great the staff is very friendly and so are the students! Its a two bed room suite with a kitchen and a big bathroom! If you need a place to stay while in windsor I RECOMMEND IT!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank candigurl6686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Devonshire
Ramada Limited Windsor
Ramada Limited Windsor
#12 of 35 in Windsor
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bexon Rooms
#6 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor

Property: Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
Address: 3995 Geraedts Dr, Windsor, Ontario N9G 3C3, Canada (Formerly St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through to August, Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor offers a unique and affordable alternative to summer accommodations for the budget traveler. We offer two bedroom suites, with a kitchenette equipped with a full-sized fridge and microwave. We also offer complimentary continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre Hotel Windsor
St Clair College Residence And Conference Centre
St Clair College Residence Hotel
Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing