We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making a reservation was impossible; they told me to take my business elsewhere”

Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Windsor B&B and Inns
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Making a reservation was impossible; they told me to take my business elsewhere”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I live in the area. My wife and I attended high-school next door and she has always been curious about staying there. I wanted to surprise her for our wedding anniversary and reserve a room.

Because I live close by, I first showed up in person to make a reservation but there was no one present. Later that day I used their web-site to reserve a room. I received no reply at all.

Two or three days after using their web-site I sent a follow-up e-mail and was finally given a reply telling me that the night I requested was unavailable. This would be the beginning of many back and forth e-mails with much frustration on my part.

I explained that the specific night was flexible as long as it was around the date of our anniversary and to their credit they offered me their suite at a discounted rate. I asked if I could confirm my reservation in person as I don't like to give my credit card information over the phone. This is when things began to get very frustrating. I was told that the father was on vacation and would be returning on October 8th and that I could come and meet with him then. It was explained that I could see the room and go over details etc. I responded, explaining that all I wanted was to confirm the reservation ASAP, as I do not like to leave things up in the air, but they persisted.

So I waited almost two weeks before I could go in person, and when I arrived on the 8th there was no one present once again.

Upon returning home I sent another e-mail politely expressing my frustration at the difficultly involved in the process of confirming a reservation, and explained that such difficultly could lead one to feel concern over the quality of service that could be expected in person, and I requested an appointment to meet with someone.

They took offence to my customer feedback and told me to take my business elsewhere. They told me that it was unfair of me to "jump to conclusions" over the quality of their service because I did not want to confirm over the phone (which was a gross misstatement of events).

From my point of view, reserving a room and corresponding with customers is all a part of their service. Given the customer service I received, including their response to my feedback, I must say their service was extremely poor. Never in my life have I been told that my business is not wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Garett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
41
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Larry, Joyce and their son are the epitome of hospitality. They are infant-friendly which was a relief to us as new parents attempting our first trip with our five-month old son. Joyce acted as surrogate grandma to our baby while we enjoyed the delicious breakfast she had prepared. Our room was clean with all the comforts of home: wifi, television and a mini-fridge. It is truly the details like offering us a bottle of water when we first arrived, kindly coming to find us at the bus station and making homemade blueberry muffins for their guests that make this place top notch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unanovafamiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this bed & breakfast and it couldn't have been better. Larry and Joyce were perfect hosts. We got a little mixed up in directions and I had to call the B&B. Larry was very patient in providing directions. Larry and Joyce both spent some time with us upon our arrival to chat. They are both so friendly. The breakfast in the morning was unbelievable. We stayed in the third floor suite. The room was large, comfortable and we had a great sleep. We would highly recommend this B&B. Be sure to take a stroll around the area. We were fortunate as the Arts in the Park Festival was on the same weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed one night in Corrina's Chamber while in town for a family party. Our host was extremely welcoming when we arrived with recommendations for an Italian dinner and walking directions. He then prepared a delicious three-course breakfast before our departure in the morning. The room was quiet and comfortable. We recommend walking to the Walker Mansion and park during your stay to explore the historic neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed on our way to Niagara Falls for the weekend. Had the third floor suite. The jacuzzi was great, the fireplace was nice and we were seriously tempted to steal the rug in front of it because it felt so nice to walk on. They kindly provided some refreshments when we arrived, and had a fantastic several course breakfast when we woke up.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if they're not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xdeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed in Corrina's Chamber in August for 3 days. Larry & Joyce were amazing hosts, breakfast was a real treat every morning and there were definitely no repeated dishes either. First time trying watermelon soup! They gave us great directions around the city and helped made our stay in Windsor wonderful. The house is really lovely and well taken care of, we loved the charm of our room. Definitely will stay here again next time we're in Canada.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were in Windsor for a wedding for two nights, and stayed in the Loft - Samantha's Suite. Ye Olde Walkerville was excellent - the room was huge, spacious with Jacuzzi, and most importantly clean with a very comfortable bed. But two things really made this B&B stand out: (1) Our hosts Larry & Joyce were friendly, concerned with our comfort, and offered very entertaining stories over breakfast; (2) Breakfast - mmm mmmm.... Joyce serves delicious 2 course breakfasts - first something sweet, and then something savory, using fresh local ingredients (and some from her garden). I highly recommend this B&B for stays in Windsor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett_atom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,926 reviews
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bexon Rooms
#7 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1104 Monmouth Rd, Windsor, Ontario N8Y 3L8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Walkerville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing