We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be nicer!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Hidden Gem Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Windsor B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed at Kirk's more times than I can count, always in the Green Suite, which is ridiculously comfortable. I love being able to spread out and relax, the bed is comfortable - we've never had a bad time! Barbe and Jim are outstanding hosts, and Jim is always ready with directions to the nearest arena for us hockey nuts. Breakfast is always great, and they're always willing to fix a tea tray on a chilly day. Planning a return visit in Feb. 2013, and I know it won't be the last!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnLParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in Green Room Suite which is spacious, has lots of light and is comfortable. Establishment met my expectations based on previous Tripadvisor reviews. Hosts are very friendly. Sharing experiences with guests at the breakfast table added a nice touch for me as a single traveler. The TV in the suite ideally should be upgraded to a flat screen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabelo259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having stayed at many B&B establishments Kirk's stands out. The owners, Jim and Barb have created a friendly and welcoming home-style B&B. Rooms are upstairs and include an elegant suite with porch as well as a simple room with a bed.

Location is within sight of the river and a 20 minute walk to the downtown area. If you take the direct route you can stroll through a comfortable neighbourhood that in other cities would have become gentrified and exclusive. Take a slight detour and you will see restaurants and outlets from a half dozen countries.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My fiance and I stayed in the Earth room, and we were both very pleased with this B&B. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable with fluffy pillows (my favourite!). The owners were friendly and easy speak to, and they provided us with some great tips on what to do during our stay. Overall, I would come back to this B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure_Seeker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hubby and I stayed at Kirks for a last minute getaway over the long weekend. The location was perfect as it was very close to the casino and not far from the tunnel with handy parking. We stayed in the Earth room which was small but very comfortable and met our needs nicely. The bed had a comfortable mattress and the sheets were soft and luxurious, great for curling up for a cozy nights sleep. The bath was a 50's pink retro chic that reminded me of Gramma's house. Breakfast consisted of friendly conversation, fresh fruit, eggs, ham and english muffins with a bottomless cup of coffee. The price was very reasonable for the location and amenities making it a spot we will surely visit again. Next time we may try the Loft or Green Suite for variety.

Room Tip: Earth room was great for a quick sleep. Green Suite is perfect if you want to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Planned a surprise getaway for my wife at this B&B and the Kirk's helped make this one of our most favorite vacations. Not only are the rooms well appointed, but the Kirk's provide just the right balance between friendliness and privacy. If and when you want to engage them, they are available to help and full of delightful stories about Windsor. If you want to be left alone, they are invisible; perfect for a romantic break.

The breakfasts were a delight to the eyes as well as the palate. The parking is convenient and the location is well situated, facilitating store browsing by foot or car.

We will definitely be returning to the Kirk's in the near future!

Room Tip: The rooms really are a great value. If you can afford it, go for the loft...you won't regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in the loft, was very nice--large and very private....GREAT breakfast both mornings but loved the " FRENCH TOAST" .......highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Dellandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
8,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Ye Olde Walkerville Bed & Breakfast
Stonecroft Inn
#2 of 35 in Windsor
332 reviews
iSleep Inn
#4 of 5 in Windsor
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Hidden Gem Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hidden Gem Bed and Breakfast

Address: 406 Moy Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Walkerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: $52 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hidden Gem B&B is Windsor Biz X magazine's winners for "Outstanding new business of 2017"! Nestled on a tree-lined street, in historic old Walkerville area of Windsor. We are minutes from the banks of the Detroit River and Caesars Windsor Casino. Choose from 2 spacious suites with en-suites and private sitting areas, WiFi, cable and mini fridge. Enjoy a hearty breakfast before discovering many lovely shops, biking paths and restaurants within walking distance. We have lived in and loved this area all our lives. We will be able to help you find that special restaurant, event or activity to make your visit memorable. Presently each suite goes for $99 CAN./night single and $115 CAN./night double occupancy (plus GST 13%) which includes a full breakfast. - your hosts Troy and Sue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Hidden Gem Bed And Breakfast Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing