We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Taste of real Southern cooking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet T's Soul Cookin' - CLOSED

Sweet T's Soul Cookin'
Cuisines: Canadian, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Essex, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste of real Southern cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having lived in the Southern states for a number of years and missing the down home cooking, I was very pleased to find Sweet T's on Ottawa Street right here in WIndsor! The chicken IS "southern fried", the sides are genuine, and the ribs are the real deal! A special coffee concoction containing Jack Daniel's really hit the spot and reminded me of my years spent in Tennessee! This place brings back fond memories and a real taste of the South! Even if you have never had down home cooking from the Southern states, you will enjoy this place and it's Southern hospitality!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katnipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
364 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tasty Fried Chicken in Windsor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stopped in to try the menu. It was a slow night so I was seated right away. I asked the server what he suggested between the ribs, meatloaf and fried chicken and he told me that he was a vegetarian! But he did say the fried chicken is the main seller, so I ordered the 3 piece along with a side of potato salad. I will say the chicken was juicy and flavorful without being greasy. The potato salad was home made and also tasty. Good meal washed down with a pint of beer. The server came by periodically to check on me which was much appreciated. Not KFC cheap but still good find in Windsor. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bgreenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best chicken and waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As much as we loved the former Bin 151 restaurant that used to occupy this space, the new Sweet T's is a fantastic replacement (although maybe not quite as healthy). The chicken and waffles are outstanding, with the side of syrup that is not too sweet and a wonderful compliment. The chicken is super moist and the skin has the perfect crunch. The numerous microbrews are also a great addition to the menu. The service is excellent with friendly staff. If we had to offer one suggestion, maybe add a few more vegetable options on the menu to add to the overall meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went to Sweet T after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. Good food, nice but basic dinning area. Extremely friendly staff. We enjoyed our meal there.

Helpful?
Thank YK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken and tasty desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and another couple decided to give Sweet T's a try since Smoke N' Spice was ridiculously busy as usual. The food and service were top notch. Crispy, tender and juicy fried chicken, really good fries, gravy and beans too. Got the red velvet cheesecake to go and it was great too! Would definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenjenbrcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet T's Soul Cookin' also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing