We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Squirrel Cage

The Squirrel Cage
Ranked #15 of 755 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was very fresh, nice variety lunch menu. We enjoyed it so much that we went two days in a row! "The Windsor" chicken panini was our groups favorite. it comes with greens and a wonderful, tangy dressing. Tasteful contemporary decor. Lunch with a soda is around $12. Not the place to go if you are in a major rush though as it is a small operation. The staff was quite pleasant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A new favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped in for a drink and a light lunch during a bike ride a couple weeks ago. We split a Chicken salad and the staff were kind enough to put it on two plates. Judging by the size my husband said it was like 2 salads. The portion was amazing. Well worth our money. And they have a great drinks list. We both tried 2 new beers that sunny Sunday afternoon. We ate outside and loved the quiet atmosphere. A true hidden treasure here in Windsor. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Couples_Resort_Rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went to the the Squirrel Cage today, and although it is tucked in behind and away from the main streets, this "hole in the wall" is definitely a place to visit. The decor is fantastic and the food meets expectations too. Generously sized portions provides good bang for your buck. $10 (ish) for sandwich and a salad (with DELICIOUS house dressing), I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationer155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and have a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Meals are perfect in size and price. Service is excellent and sometime very entertaining, Stephen and John make you feel at home. Coffee is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gdvidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I'll squirrel my way here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere! You won't even know you're in Windsor, but somewhere in the woods! The choice of music helps with the mood as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Envir0ment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Squirrel Cage also viewed

 
Windsor, Ontario
Windsor, Ontario
 

Been to The Squirrel Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing