We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Some Cleaning/Crowding Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
“Good Location - Some Cleaning/Crowding Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stay here as a HH Gold. Central location next to the the Hwy but pick a room on the opposite side of the building from the Hwy as traffic/truck noise is heavy due to Ambassador Bridge traffic 24/7

25% of the time had cleaning issues ie room released but really not ready.

Breakfast good if you can get to it. High traffic location with lots of sports/student traffic so breakfast area over loaded some mornings.

Big Negative.....people who run the Breakfast start to close up "ONE HOUR" before the regular closing time. This is a denial of HH benefits and should not be allowed. Feel ripped off if you wait for the crowds to thin out and eat later. I believe the policy is full service open until the clock runs out....no cheating!

Lots of parking. Polite and helpful staff at the front desk. Pool area clean and they will even turn up the pool temp if requested.

No restaurant but there is a full restaurant across the street at the Holiday Inn if needed.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the opposite side of the building from the Hwy as traffic/truck noise is heavy due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    176
    64
    21
    17
See reviews for
151
91
30
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was clean and quiet. This hotel is in Windsor Canada. I was disappointed that they didn't get the TV station for the Hockey games, after all it is Canada. I look forward to visiting just to watch the games I can't get in the states. The breakfast bar was a bit of a let down. They used powdered eggs and sausage that had so much filler in it that I couldn't find the sausage. There was beacon once during my one week stay. The rest of the breakfast was as usuall as any other hotel with some fruit and yogert, bread and juice available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Randle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after driving all day from Atlanta Georgia. We were exhausted and cold but made to feel very welcome at this here. The room was well appointed (it's a Hampton), comfortable and affordable. We were treated very well by the staff. The breakfast provided in the price of the room was well beyond our expectations. There was a good selection of food in a nice atmosphere.
In defense of pet friendly hotels, I have to say you would never know that this hotel allows pets, it's spotless and odorless. We would return any time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb6827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a kid's safe place to stay. We attended a gymnastic meet at the University during the weekend. I was a pleasure to be so close to everything and be with friends and their families. Free wifi and hot breakfast were available daily. Hot tub and indoor pool were a pleasure. Hotel management made themselves available in the event of a hiccup. We will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hfwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was clean, and comfortable. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Location is good as it's right on the main road, near many restaurant options. Complimentary breakfast in the AM was hot, fresh. As well, the "breakfast in a bag" was convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location was good for us to be near the University, also on the route to Ambassador Bridge/border. This hotel was a nice, clean fairly modern hotel. Not too fancy--just right for the price. Free parking and breakfast was some of the reasons we picked it. They did grant one of our requests; room on the quieter side (back of the building) like suggested in previous reviews, but couldn't get connecting rooms (fully booked). Our other room on the front side of the building was fine too....not loud enough to bug us. We would suggest a second toaster and waffle iron in the breakfast area. Was busier towards the end of the breakfast time (its best to go down a bit earlier, as we all know). We really liked that the pool was a salt water pool and not doused with chlorine. Even the water in the room didn't have usual hotel bleach taste to it.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the north side (backside) are quieter" if you really need it really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonynsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We like the hotel in all respects, exceept the beds in our room seemed harder than we have experienced there before. This is our third time at this Hampton Inn. We had trouble sleeping because of the bed hardness. However we will probabley stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Antonia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 3,413 reviews
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#9 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
Address: 1840 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windsor
#1 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Windsor Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing