We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay, Horrid Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed just for 1 night. We were attending a concert @ the Fox in Detroit. The location is very convenient but noisy with nonstop truck traffic. We read previous reviews and asked for a room facing the back of the hotel. The room was a bit tired. Older furniture very tired bed linens and a laughable lumpy comforter. When we opened the door it looked like someone was in the bed. Free wired internet. I havn't stayed anywhere that hasn't had wireless for a very long time. The carpet had obvious stains and grout missing in several spots in the bathroom. The worst part was the breakfast. We both threw it in the garbage and went out for breakfast before hitting the road. The fruit was far from ripe, as hard as a rock. Un-cooked waffles that were raw and doughy after the timer went off. Also, they offered raw and doughy mini muffins that were not completely baked. They couldn't pay me to eat that, it was definitely the worse breakfast we have had at any Homewood or Hampton location. Stick with the prepackaged cereal and yogurts. Starbucks and Tim Horton’s are very close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuesdaysgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 689 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

After a day in the wine country we spent the night at the Hampton Inn. It's hard to find a B & B in the Russian River area that will let you stay only 1 night on a weekend so a hotel is your only only choice. However, this place did not disappoint! The hotel appeared to quite new and the rooms were beautifully appointed. We reserved a larger room and it had a great little kitchenette area with a fridge as well as a sitting area. The hotel is located across the street from a great restaurant called Garlic Jack's which was mobbed before 6:00. The only disappointment was the complimentary morning breakfast. It was totally self-serve, offered canned fruit and other sad selections. Paper plates, cups and plastic utensils didn't help. However, the price was right! The people traveling with their kids seemed totally content! While I prefer the B & Bs, they are more expensive and require two nights. This is a fabulous alternative and I would certainly return!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrabYourHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We have many family members in Windsor, being from the Toronto area try to visit the city a couple times a year. Every time we stay in Windsor we stay at the Hampton. Service is great, from the front desk staff to the older lady serving the breakfast in the morning. Got to love Hamptons and having breakfast included.

Only constructive complaint is that we were located above the pool area, our room smelt of chlorine as a result, we were only staying for one night and only in the room to sleep so didn't ask to move. However maybe the ventilation should be looked at in the pool area. Rooms are also starting to look a little worn and tired. Never the less the room was very clean.

We will be back but hope they fix a few minor issues.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rshipthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMajor, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Good Day,

Thank you for your compliments of the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor. We thrive on customer service; it's great to see our customers notice.

In regards to your challenges of the room smell, our pool area is saltwater, no chlorine is used. I will definitely look into the matter further to come to a conclusion of the order. The front desk would have been happy to move you to another location immediately due to this challenge.

In regards to the conditions of our rooms: the property is continuously upgrading to keep a fresh look. As our televisions, duvets, and most hallway carpeting have been completed, our next step is our guest room carpeting scheduled for this year.

Again, thank you for your comments. The best way to improve on any issue is to hear it from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Stayed here many many times when in Windsor for business. The hotel is fairly new, clean and comfortable. It's situated on a major road so request a room on the back of the hotel if available. Being a Hampton the breakfast is included and is typical Hampton fare - the waffle maker added over the past year is a welcome addition.

Free parking which is a plus compared to the Hilton Windsor located downtown

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thezoo341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This a a nice Hampton. Nothing fansy but I was 100% satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMajor, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your kind words, we welcome the opportunity of hosting you while traveling into Windsor again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I do business in downtown Detroit and staying here gives you access to nice gyms, restaurants, and sports without having to deal with the high prices of staying in downtown Detroit or dealing with the crime of Detroit. The Casino is less than 10 minutes away. The hotel is clean, great TV, good breakfast, and great service. The pool burned my eyes to no end. They don't use chlorine but salt water, but the front desk attendant said many people have issues with their eyes after swimming. Despite the pool, I stay here every time I stay in Detroit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMajor, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your kind words, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our team members hospitality and of course the condition and amenities of the hotel. Our apologies regarding the pool, it does take a little to get used to as on average a majority of guests are used to a chlorine pool.

We look forward to your next visit to Windsor / Detroit.

Gail Major
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Good option in Windsor for travellers who like the higher-end "value" chain. New, clean, modern feel throughout. Wired internet in the room worked well. Beds were very firm and squeeky. Felt like nightly rate ($144 for 2 queens) was overpriced based on overall value. But in Windsor there are limited hotels in this range of quality. Breakfast was decent variety and offerred Sausage. Could be noisy if you had a room on the Huron Church side

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
Thank broncotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
7,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor

Address: 1840 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windsor
#1 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $122 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Windsor Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing