We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch, Horrible Front Desk”
Review of Caesars Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caesars Windsor
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2010

When booking THERE IS NO GURANTEE ON ANYTHING. This is stuck to you at check in. Two of us went, 2 guys and reserved 2 beds. NOT A CHANCE, sorry there is no guarantee.

Well gee Wally, Dont you think it would be wise to call the paying customer prior to us getting there??? Absolute joke. They only advise paying customers of changes to the reservation after you get there and have drove for hours or even flew for that matter.

Food was okay but the servers were not very friendly at all. It is always hit and miss with this place. No consistency. One month fish is good, next month it isnt even edible?? What gives??

Wild horses could not drag me back there...

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rooster1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7,545 - 7,551 of 7,676 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

checked into the Augusta tower...5 mins later ...employee at our door..just wants to see if we are happy or need anything...Wow. Great comps - cash comps. Very very fun..the best bed ever. Later in the casino - sitting at a machine - another employee comes up to meet - greets me by name- just to say hello. Is there anything you need? Wow again. We love Harrahs, and always have..but this customer service is unreal. Thank you - tables were great = slots a little tight. But, boy did we feel welcome. Will be back soon. One other thing - border patrol...very thorough..every car was totally searched. No problem if you're not smuggling....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at Caesars Windsor for a concert in the Coliseum. I didn’t know what to expect since there is not a ton of information on TA about the hotel, but it was really nice. The front entrance facing the river and Detroit skyline is striking and the hotel and casino were clean and new-looking.

Once we parked it was a very long way to check in to our rooms in the Augustus tower. We chose that tower because it was newer but would probably take the adults-only Forum tower if we stay again because it is so much closer to the restaurants, pool and casino.

The rooms were very nice and spacious. We had a King bed so the room actually seemed overly large. There was a slight view of the river from the room if you looked to the side.

The bathroom was very nice and large with a separate shower & tub. They give you tons of towels, which is nice. There is also a small empty fridge in the room (no mini-bar).

The bed was comfortable and the service from all hotel and casino staff was excellent. Several staff members went out of their way to walk us to restaurants we were looking for.

The only complaint is WiFi access. It is $12.95 for 24 hours in the room. We only needed it for a short time in the morning so we went to the business centre where it was $7.50 for 15 minutes! Pretty outrageous.

The casino is beautiful. It is huge with lots of slots and table games. It is definitely the nicest casino I’ve seen in Ontario. The Total Rewards loyalty program offers incentives to sign up and you can check your points status at any machine.

We ate at the sports bar which had a fun atmosphere and reasonable prices but the service was quite slow and I didn’t care for the food. It was very basic, not much flavour or effort.

The pool is adults-only which is great. The women’s change room and sauna is very nice. The men’s is under construction. The pool deck has a great view of the skyline. The water was nice and warm but definitely could have been cleaner.

We had a great stay at Caesar’s Windsor and would definitely go back. There is lots to do in the complex, no need to leave the building, but you’ll get your exercise walking around because it is huge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Have been here a number of times, in fact leaving tonight or tomorrow to return. Nice hotel, spacious non smoking casino, but the food is awful! Enormous buffet with numerous "stations" that dont seem to be well attended to. Breakfast in restaurant by lobby OK...We will be packing a cooler this time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandnsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

There was nothing wrong with our stay at Caesar's Windsor. We spent a night here while visiting Detroit and got a cheap rate off an Internet promotion. Our room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was one of the nicest I've seen in a hotel. The room and hallway were quiet. We picked a room with a view of Windsor. Next time we'll opt for the view of downtown Detroit. Staying in a hotel/casino is a nice change from the usual places. They had free valet parking and there's a fee for wi-fi. From the hotel it's a short drive to the Ambassador Bridge and Detroit/Windsor tunnel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanaduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This was my first time at Caesars Windsor and was very impressed with the size of the place, all public areas were spacious and uncrowded even in the casino. There is alot of walking to get from one place to another which could be a drawback for some. The room was quiet, again spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was also (surprise) spacious though I wish housekeeping would've cleaned the floor better not sure if this was because of the tile used but it just didn't look clean. TV could be bigger but they want you to be gambling not vegging out upstairs. Ate at the Market Buffet for dinner-pricy but there was so many different types of food and quality was good for a buffet so did not mind paying it. Slots seemed tighter than what I'm used to at the Detroit casinos also going to Canada is not so much a hassle but the tunnel coming back to the US was backed up all the way when we arrived at 2 PM and at 9 AM when we checked out took about 30 -45 mins. to come back through.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Great room, as nice, if not better, than the tower rooms at The Mirage.
Gambling bad but that happens. Food at the coffee shop was bad, gnats flying around. Good selection of beers at the bars. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttonetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesars Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesars Windsor

Address: 377 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 7H7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windsor
#4 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $132 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caesars Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE THE LARGEST CASINO RESORT IN CANADA. Spectacular luxury awaits you at the 27-story Augustus and 22-story Forum hotel towers. When combined, they boast 758 luxurious rooms peppered with indulgences that are hard to resist. Enjoy complimentary valet service, room service, concierge attention, an indoor pool, health club, fitness centre and wireless high-speed service. From our award-winning buffet to our world-renowned steakhouse, Caesars Windsor is your place for great culinary indulgences. Our 8 restaurants include: Neros steakhouse, Augustus Cafe, Artist Cafe, Market Buffet, Legends Sports Bar, Pronto Cafe, Vu Bar and Cosmos. Experience many of the legendary names in entertainment in our 5,000 seat entertainment centre. Enjoy non-stop gaming action spread over two expansive floors, with World Series of Poker satellite tournaments and sports wagering. Getting here is easy. Accessible by Via Rail, the Windsor Airport (YQG) and the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caesars Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesars Windsor Hotel Windsor
Caesars Hotel Windsor
Casino Windsor Hotel
Windsor Caesars Hotel
Windsor Casino
Caesars Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing