We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They lost my booking - smoking room”
Review of Caesars Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caesars Windsor
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“They lost my booking - smoking room”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We're looking for a mini-getaway as our 'babymoon' before baby arrives. I was all ready to book the room on-line when I discovered that they will not guarantee your smoking preference, in my case, for a non-smoking room. I called the hotel to discuss this and explained that I'm pregnant and wouldn't accept staying in a smoking room. Still, they will not guarantee your smoking preference. Come on! This is 2013!! Caesar's Windsor needs to get with the times. I just checked other reviews and people did have the problem of receiving a smoky room when they had requested a non-smoking room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeaniePuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,517
    1,644
    392
    127
    181
See reviews for
1,347
3,120
550
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and have never been disappointed. The valet parking staff are very helpful as is the Front desk staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. It might be a good idea to bring your own pillow as the feather ones tend to be hard. The gym has a great range of machines to suit all abilities. The treadmills are positioned facing the Detroit river so the view is beautiful. There is a small (ladies?) gym in the corner for those who desire a more private workout. The change rooms are clean and neat. There is a spin drier for wet bathing suits and a supply of plastic bags for your damp clothing - how thoughtful!
The pool is great for length swimming or Aqua aerobics. Noodles are provided. The hot tubs are large.
We ate in the Artist's cafe for most of our meals though there are other restaurants on site. Service could have been better and we found it difficult to attract a server to pay for our meals. The food was good. One evening, we ate at the Market Buffet. The range of food is wonderful and make sure you leave room for dessert! The freshly made crepes are delightful!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Detroit river is a beautiful sight to waken up to and at night the twinkli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This by far the best place to stay in the Windsor/Detroit area. Great Casino! Good Restaurants including the Marketplace Buffet in the lower level with everything imaginable to eat.
There is free parking available on the upper levels of the parking garage, although it can be quite the hike through the casino with your luggage from the parking garage. They do offer Valet parking. Room Service is very fast. There is a Starbucks onsite. Rooms are comfortably large! And I was on the 19th floor with a great view of Detroit and the river. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well appointed, clean rooms. Breath taking views of the river front. You are in the midst of downtown Windsor so there's not much else to do but gamble! Not much into the gambling but I enjoyed wandering around in the exclusive boutiques.

Room Tip: Definately request a river front view - the high the better. Great place to be in July for the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathykale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We made our annual trip to the casino and stayed in the Forum Tower, as usual. I really like this hotel, not sure why. It's showing some wear and tear but we got a great nights sleep. Room temp was perfect and the room was super quiet. Bed was pretty comfy, too. I still like the fact that it has recycle bins in the rooms.
The casino was not very crowded which I enjoyed. The slots were not very generous this time, but I didn't really visit execting to go home any richer than i was when I arrived. But I had a lot of fun.
The drinks are not that great. They have the liquor measure pourer things on the bottles and even when we ordered a double it was still probably not the equivalent of a pour at a regular bar. And the price for two doubles, vodka and soda....$25. That's a lot. I had to drink the free self-serve coffee just to feel like I wasn't getting too ripped off.
The Artistic Cafe has a bufft breakfast which was OK but nothing amazing. The prices were right in line with any hotel restaurant. If you have a rewards card you will receive a discounted price on the food at the casino.
Parking is free and seems safe, secure. We walked a couple of blocks along the riverfront to Oulette St to visit the Loose Goose and we had no safety issues walking the few blocks. Although the sidewalks were not shoveled so it could have been dangerous.
We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We enjoy the Forum Tower but have never stayed in the Augustus Tower to compare. The Riverview room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Have stayed here twice now and both times were great. The rooms are large and well-appointed, and the hotel is very clean. Very responsive housekeeping staff as well. The casino is good as well. However, outside of the hotel, we haven't been able to find much to do. Good to visit for a couple of days if you like casinos, or to see a show there. Otherwise, best talk to someone from Windsor who might be able to give you some advice on what to do in the city. Haven't made it over to Detroit yet.

There is a Starbucks on site (although limited hours), and the hotel Wifi is free and pretty reliable.

Tip -- sign up for/use your Total Rewards card at the casino (same program as other Caesar's locations, like Caesars Palace). You can use the reward points you collect for cash at most of the hotel restaurants and even to pay for your room. Plus, we only play the slots and don't gamble all that much money, but we get lots of coupons for free slot play, free food/food credits, and even free rooms. Between the two of us, we received three free nights for our last stay.

Regular room rates are a bit on the high side, but between Total Rewards coupons and Caesars room sales, you should be able to find cheaper rates than rack.

Room Tip: Both times we've been in the Augustus tower where the rooms have been great -- and both times we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_vygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosomin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Received a fantastic deal at Caesars Windsor for an advanced booking--Rooms are much larger than a standard hotel room, and the beds were comfortable with quality linens--Choice of separate soaker tub and Stand-up shower. Also appreciated having the option of a smoking room on a smoking floor with no worries because it's cold in December and I like it when hotels still have a few "old-school" options for guests. Would have liked if the fan in the bathroom had a manual switch, or something similar in the room for the smoke other than the AC/heating unit. They have an optional "Go Green" program where you can decline housekeeping for as many nights as you wish (each night declined service credits you 500 Total Rewards points, the equivalent of roughly 5.00 to be used towards food and beverage on site or other items in the TR catalogue online). This program worked for me because it was a short stay and there were plenty of towels/toiletries provided from the start. Plus I enjoy my freebies at hotels. Restaurants are good to great as well, with about 6-7 on site. It's a large complex but a series of escalators handily get you to where you need to be; It's a bit of change from your everyday hotel/motel off the highway, a little different experience to take in. There are a variety of things to do even if you're not a fan of the One-Armed Bandits or BlackJack/Poker tables. Some big-name acts perform at the Colosseum in the Augustus Tower area. You are set for a great weekend or mid-week getaway if one of your favorite entertainers happens to be playing. Caesar's Windsor earns it's stripes as a 4-star property (at a 3-star price if you watch for promotions). I found the staff to be helpful, friendly, and on top of things (especially the front desk, chefs/cooks, and housekeeping). Try the Market Buffett, it's fantastic quality food with much more than anyone could hope to try in one sitting. Oreo Cheescake was rich and well made, as well as the Homestyle Meatloaf/Meatballs (my personal favourite)--Care and attention were paid to the fresh salads and other vegetables on offer. Would like to check out Nero's Steakhouse (gourmet) someday when I return. Who knows, maybe a Comp meal at Nero's for good ol' Mr. Riggs? We shall see, it is a Casino after all! ;)

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation in the Augustus Tower, I was told it has better WiFi connection. Forum tower h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekRiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
152 reviews
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesars Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesars Windsor

Property: Caesars Windsor
Address: 377 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 7H7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windsor
#4 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caesars Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE THE LARGEST CASINO RESORT IN CANADA. Spectacular luxury awaits you at the 27-story Augustus and 22-story Forum hotel towers. When combined, they boast 758 luxurious rooms peppered with indulgences that are hard to resist. Enjoy complimentary valet service, room service, concierge attention, an indoor pool, health club, fitness centre and wireless high-speed service. From our award-winning buffet to our world-renowned steakhouse, Caesars Windsor is your place for great culinary indulgences. Our 8 restaurants include: Neros steakhouse, Augustus Cafe, Artist Cafe, Market Buffet, Legends Sports Bar, Pronto Cafe, Vu Bar and Cosmos. Experience many of the legendary names in entertainment in our 5,000 seat entertainment centre. Enjoy non-stop gaming action spread over two expansive floors, with World Series of Poker satellite tournaments and sports wagering. Getting here is easy. Accessible by Via Rail, the Windsor Airport (YQG) and the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Caesars Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesars Windsor Hotel Windsor
Caesars Hotel Windsor
Casino Windsor Hotel
Windsor Caesars Hotel
Windsor Casino
Caesars Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing