We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Caesars Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caesars Windsor
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Port Huron, MIchigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Had a very nice stay. First and foremost the price was right as we were comped the room. Only a couple of negatives, and one was by our choice. First we arrived at 5:00 PM on a Sunday evening and our Non Smoking room was not ready, in fact they did not have a single Non Smoking room available. They did offer to hold our luggage until it was ready, but could not give a time. The front desk was helpful and polite and offered us an upgraded room (Junior Suite) but smoking. Which brings me to my second negative. We have stayed in smoking rooms before without too much issue with the smell, so we decided to take the room offered. As soon as we stepped off the elevator onto our floor we knew we had made a mistake. In all the traveling I have done I have never had a hallway smell so overwhelming with smoke. The room was only a bit better, but nothing a candle could not solve...but it is partially our fault for agreeing to the smoking room, and if I was a smoker I would not have any complaint. The hotel is Not a spectacular 5 star resort by any means, but maybe just a notch or two below it. Beds are very firm...I liked it, but my Wife hated it and did not get much sleep. Bathrooms are very well appointed. Separate Glass enclosed shower, and a nice large soaking spa tub. The rooms are spacious, with a separate couch and chair to sit and watch TV. The view of the Detroit riverfront is spectacular. One very nice feature is the two safes in the closet. One large enough for a laptop. The rooms also include a small fridge that was very handy. The room was very clean. The carpeting is showing a bit of use though. The staff is very friendly and we were greeted with a smile where ever we went. Cafe was so so, the buffet was excellent..though we only had breakfast there. Neros steak house was above average and the prices where fair. Overall good stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarriedinVegas95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,277
    1,575
    379
    119
    173
See reviews for
1,267
2,967
522
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,022)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Caesar's Windsor Hotel is fantastic! The room in which I stayed was exceptionally well furnished and was kept to standards of cleanliness unparalelled by none. I really appreciated the fact that housekeeping came to clean the room while I was away for breakfast in the morning, and i didn't have to worry about housekeeping coming in at later hours. The hotel complex is really special, and if you cant find a restaurant, buffet, casino, pool or excercise room to your liking then there is probably something unrealistic about your expectations!

Don't miss the buffet!! The omelets are made to order, and where else in Windsor can you find one buffet providing omelets, sushi, spaghetti, burgers, deli sandwiches, mussels, paella and the most elaborate dessert spread I have ever seen in my life?

I give this hotel 5 stars only because there is not the possibility for giving six. Stay at Caesars and enjoy a wonderful Windsor experience.

Room Tip: Go for the City View. The view to Detroit is unsurpassed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Booked a room at Caesars Windsor on a whim ... we were flying into the Detroit airport after a week in Florida and not landing until midnight. Booked a special rate online the day before our stay -- room was $84 for the night, I figured for the area and what I was getting that couldn't be beat.

We arrived just after 1 a.m. Our GPS took us over the border through the tunnel instead of the bridge. Took the advice of other reviewers and decided not to self-park our car because of the long walk from the parking garage to the front desk, used the free valet instead (with tip of course). Had to go around the block to find the valet, it was a bit tricky. Hotel was very quiet (very early on a Wednesday morning) and check in was quick. The woman said we were being upgraded to a deluxe suite from our standard room, which was a nice surprise after a week of staying at budget hotels in cramped rooms or on a less-than-desirable airbed.

Was a bit of a walk through the casino to the elevator for the Forum tower (the older tower of the two) which I admit wasn't pleasant after a long night of travel, made worse by the fact we were dragging some pretty large suitcases. Took a glass-sided elevator to the 19th floor, quite a view going up! Opened the door to our room and wow! A large living room with a sectional couch and half bath, flatscreen TV, office area, bar with mini-fridge and a beautiful view of the Detroit River. Separate bedroom with a king size bed, full sitting area, another TV, dressing area, a bath with a lovely stand-up shower, jetted tub, lighted make-up mirrors, infrared heat bulbs in the ceiling to keep you warm out of the shower. Even two bathrobes in the closet for good measure. Did I mention the bedroom had the same lovely view of the river? It did!

Needless to say, after paying $80-something, we were BLOWN away. It was just lovely, and we were sad we got in so late and didn't get to enjoy it all!

We did head downstairs to grab something to eat as room service wasn't available (not a great thing but I'll live), a sports bar was all that was open. We were seated at 1:55 a.m. and ordered a drink but were told the bar was closed. This was a little disappointing ... we really wanted a drink and weren't able to find one, despite the poshness of the room it did not have a mini-bar, just an empty fridge. We ended up splitting a wrap and fries which was surprisingly tasty considering it was pub fare.

We checked out via the TV the next morning and left. Didn't even spend a cent at the slots. But we have decided to come back and stay for the night and enjoy the casino. It was smart of them to upgrade us on a slow night as it has definitely made us want to come back!

The property itself is clean and smells fresh, no smoking inside which is nice. It is a well-maintained property. Again, our room was lovely, I will note a few little things which were NOT an issue to us at all (considering what we paid!) but what some people might be bothered by in a suite -- there was a small strip of wallpaper peeling in the bathroom and the vanity in the bathroom was also a little dinged up along the bottom shelf. Laughable things to even note in my opinion.

Room Tip: I suspect if you book mid-week during a slow time of the year you're more apt to get a great upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vespa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybee,Mi
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Beautiful, friendly, clean hotel and casino. We love the no smoking policy. I was invited to the
quarterly birthday celebration. It was so nice! The food was very good and the entertainment was excellent. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cunningham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsville ontario
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Great place to stay and play. Pool,hot tub, sauna, fitness centre (stay in the Forum Tower, from Augustus you have to walk through the casino to access) Buffett is great, prime rib, crab legs, shrimp and more. Dessert bar features crepes and carrot cake and ???? It is hard to say no to all the delicious food. Platter for 2 at the sports bar is a delicious sampler with lots of food. Artist cafe is nice for breakfast and Nero's steakhouse for the romantic. 2 floors of smoke free gaming slots. Tables are on the first floor. Great service. Sara and Tony are great at the reception desk. They can answer all your questions. No kids allowed in the Forum Tower but they can stay at Augustus-but can't access the pool??????

Room Tip: easy border crossing but you need a passport, forum tower if you want to use the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnski10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

much to our surprise we were upgraded to a 2400 ft. suite and it was just beautiful! the casino is a casino win & lose, not to crazy about ordering drinks from the machines, place it very clean & staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Had a comped night and got a bay view room. Room was awesome, but floor was not completely vaccummed. Service all the way around was top notch and friendly. Free wi-fi was excellent. Had a great stay but slots are very tight there!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big80sfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesars Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesars Windsor

Property: Caesars Windsor
Address: 377 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 7H7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windsor
#4 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caesars Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE THE LARGEST CASINO RESORT IN CANADA. Spectacular luxury awaits you at the 27-story Augustus and 22-story Forum hotel towers. When combined, they boast 758 luxurious rooms peppered with indulgences that are hard to resist. Enjoy complimentary valet service, room service, concierge attention, an indoor pool, health club, fitness centre and wireless high-speed service. From our award-winning buffet to our world-renowned steakhouse, Caesars Windsor is your place for great culinary indulgences. Our 8 restaurants include: Neros steakhouse, Augustus Cafe, Artist Cafe, Market Buffet, Legends Sports Bar, Pronto Cafe, Vu Bar and Cosmos. Experience many of the legendary names in entertainment in our 5,000 seat entertainment centre. Enjoy non-stop gaming action spread over two expansive floors, with World Series of Poker satellite tournaments and sports wagering. Getting here is easy. Accessible by Via Rail, the Windsor Airport (YQG) and the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caesars Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesars Windsor Hotel Windsor
Caesars Hotel Windsor
Casino Windsor Hotel
Windsor Caesars Hotel
Windsor Casino
Caesars Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing