We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Twisted Apron

The Twisted Apron
Ranked #14 of 751 Restaurants in Windsor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have alway wanted to visit this spot, so when a friend mentioned it I jumped at the chance. I was not disappointed .
We had a lot to catch up on and the wait staff did not rush us. We both ordered the beet salad. It was delicious! However a bit pricey. Green than $2.50 too much. They do use local produce but $10.00 for a salad a bit high! Non the less it was excellent.
We sat in a booth and the seats were very hard.
A very bust restaurant and very goof
D

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ladygolferontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    84
    39
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“INCONSISTENT FOOD!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This used to be a good restaurant and one of my favourites; however, my last few visits have left me with a bad feeling for this restaurant's future.

The Food Items I order never appear twice the same way. The COBB SALAD was SO BAD that I would have sent it back had I not been with my manager.

Also, the CRISPY CHICKEN SANDWICH is suppose to be served with an avocado sauce and heirloom tomatoes. My Sandwich appeared with regular mayonnaise and regular tomatoes.

The Food Items prepared in the kitchen have become inconsistent. I will find other new restaurants to provide my patronage.

If you want an excellent restaurant and the same price point with better food and overall experience, try Lorelei's Bistro up the street. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First visit but not my last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at 11 am on a Saturday morning with a group of 5 and an infant. We were greeted immediately and seated within minutes! Our server was terrific. He had a great sense of humour and was very attentive. I had the breakfast special, french toast with Brie and strawberry rhubarb compote. Delicious!!! Can't wait to return and have an order of "Bennies"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cojalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent for Brunch & Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A surprisingly quaint, yet hip, restaurant in Windsor! They have delicious food with fresh ingredients and fabulous coffee and serves as a nice alternative to the more touristy places along the river.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Owner at The Twisted Apron, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. So glad you enjoyed, hope you visit us again next time your in Windsor. Our menu is always changing, so we will always have new things for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Twisted Apron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A quaint place to have a nice breakfast in Windsor. The spices used in the simplest of things, like the potatoes... Nicely done. Still trying to find a place that uses egg poachers instead of vinegar in water... Oh well. The meat portions were HUGE, like a wedge of back bacon! The home made sausage? Delicious... Overall, well done! I'd go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vee3msb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Twisted Apron also viewed

 

Been to The Twisted Apron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing