We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Mama...The Veal!!!”

La Contessa Ristorante
Ranked #26 of 780 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Every dish is made to order and prepared with only the finest and freshest ingredients. Check out our menu to see which dishes are Chef Joanna's favourite. From appetizers to entrees, she has it all picked out for your enjoyment. A little about the Chef/Owner: Chef Joanna has been at La Contessa for the last 9 years, recently becoming full owner. Joanna strives to put forth the love she has for cooking into every single dish she creates. Joanna comes from a family that loves to cook and eat. Her passion for cooking and finding joy in making others happy paved the path for her natural found talent.
1 review
“Oh Mama...The Veal!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating, good service and the food was excellent. I'd recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

In my opinion this is one of the best Italian restaurants on Erie street. The wait staff is terrific. They are always very good and extremely friendly. Portion sizes are generous, plus all meals come with fresh baked bread and soup or salad so you definitely do not leave hungry. Prices are reasonable especially considering some of the other restaurants in the area. My wife and I had two meals, glass of wine each, and a specialty coffee each, and after tax and tip it was $90.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 282mikeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My kind of Italian food!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a great place to eat. It is in such a beautiful, quaint part of Windsor. The food was terrific! it was also very beautiful and clean. They have a gorgeous section of the restaurant that can be closed off for private parties which I thought was very neat. The servers were very thorough and pleasant. I would certainly recommend giving this place a try while in Windsor!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food wonderful, service not so wonderful!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived with our guests and were seated immediately without reservations. Our waiter was attentive and personable but it took our food about an hour to arrive to our table. Maybe this works with those having drinks and appetizers, but that is not our style. No complaints about the food. We all felt it was one of the best Italian food we had eatten in a long time. We will definitely consider returning as long as we have enough time to enjoy the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreasan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Nice Find”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant when we couldn't get reservations at another place. Our good fortune, I might add. Very clean and modern. I noticed one of the waiters polishing the wine glasses. A clue to me that the restaurant places a premium on doing things right.
I really enjoyed the fresh bread and the prices are very reasonable. I had the veal crema which was done right and very thin sliced. My wife had the chicken marsala that was excellent, too. If you go to their website, they have a 3D view of the rooms. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiCub33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Contessa Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Contessa Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing